Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Spontaneous Factory Reset

    This is a discussion on Spontaneous Factory Reset within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; At about 3:10pm today, my router quite spontaneously disappeared off the network and when it came back on, it has ...

    1. #1
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Spontaneous Factory Reset

      At about 3:10pm today, my router quite spontaneously disappeared off the network and when it came back on, it has been reset to factory defaults. No one was in the house at the time. (For a brief moment, I wondered if Sky had released a new firmware but of course this should reset the user setting and indeed the version is still the same.) I've restored the settings from a backup and all is well, but I thought I'd seen all the strange things that this router can do, but this is a new one on me!
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyuser1111111's Avatar
      skyuser1111111 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      Thats a really really strange thing, but very rarely these kind of things happen

    4. #3
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      maybe a power cut/surge which made the router lose your settings and then reset when power restored[just a guess]

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      We had a major storm in Cov, could that have caused what dtr42 says?

    6. #5
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      I don't recall the exact weather but I was out at the time and it was raining, but certainly no storm. I just put it down to one of those curious events. It did help that I had a backup of the config. There must be a lesson in there somewhere.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    7. #6
      biscuit's Avatar
      biscuit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ripponden (fairly large Yorkshire village)
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      Hey, mine just did that too, got up this morning and my network wasn't available, replaced by one called 'NETGEAR' - it had gone to Netgear's default settings and not Sky's since I have UberGT, for that reason I don't think it's Sky updating it. Anyway, how can they actually update the firmware if you have remote management turned off ... unless they've slipped in a backdoor in the firmware, which is possible..

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      I have to doubt that Sky would try 'secretly' updating the firmware. For one thing, turning off the power while the update was in progress could completely wreck the router. As this is one of the recommended actions when you loose connection, as you would do during an update, surely Sky would not try this without informing you. I think the most likely scenario would be an email advising you to ensure remote management was enabled, then click a link taking you to a web page containing the firmware which would be automatically downloaded to the router.

      In Biscuit's case, I think it is probably a bug in the unofficial firmware. They do go to lengths advising you to use it at your own risk.

    9. #8
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Spontaneous Factory Reset

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I have to doubt that Sky would try 'secretly' updating the firmware.
      Then I'm afraid that I'm going to have to disappoint you by confirming your doubts!
      1. Sky can "secretly" update the router. The router runs a process that polls a server (every 24 hrs IIRC but I might be wrong) for a firmware update and downloads and installs it.
      2. No, they don't need to contact you for this to happen.
      3. This has nothing to do with remote management whatsoever. On or off, the firmware update can still happen.
      4. The problem is indicative of a problem with the hardware or something that ubergt and the sky firmware have in common. Given that there is a 99% overlap with firmware between the two, I'd think this a possibility. (Of course, now that the weather's hotter, it might be a router cooling problem.)
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION