Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Help! Free Wireless Router

    This is a discussion on Help! Free Wireless Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok, my name is Armanie and im from the UK. Let me set the scene for you, My mum rents ...

    1. #1
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help! Free Wireless Router

      Ok, my name is Armanie and im from the UK. Let me set the scene for you, My mum rents out our old house, so we went there yesterday to clean it as the tenants had moved out. While cleaning I managed to find a Sky wireless router (with a white aerial) poking out of the back. I thought, I need one of these because want to play XBOX LIVE upstairs and donít want the huge cables. It had one lead with it a quite short grey lead, im not sure what it is, and no power cable or anything else. So I took it home, as the tenants wonít be coming back and left a lot of junk at my old house anyway.

      Anyway my question is at my house here we have Wanadoo broadband I think and was wondering would it be possible to make it so that the router I found could work with my ISP and computer and then connect wirelessly upstairs to my Xbox?

      If so how would I install the router etc, as I don't have the disk or anything.

      I have read ratti3 guide on the Sky Router Setup/Configuration it was very helpful, I have also read the thread Vishal started on flashing the router. Both of these helped and gave me a lot of information that I could use in my predicament.

      Can anyone else help me out about installing the router and using it etc. I donít really want to mess the computer Internet up because itís not mine.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      I dont think the Netgear Supports WAN;

      Quote Originally Posted by windowshelp.microsoft.com

      1. Plug the modem into an electrical outlet.
      2. Plug one end of a phone cord or cable into the modem, and plug the other end into the wall jack. (DSL users: Do not use a DSL filter on the phone line.)
      3. Plug one end of an Ethernet cable into the modem, and plug the other end into the wide area network (WAN) port on the router.
      4. Plug the router into an electrical outlet.
      5. Plug one end of an Ethernet cable into the local area network (LAN) port on the router, and plug the other end into the networking port on the computer that you want to connect to the Internet. (If you are connecting wirelessly, skip this step.)
      6. Start (or restart) the computer.
      7. Open the Connect to the Internet wizard by clicking the Start button clicking Control Panel, clicking Network and Internet, clicking Network and Sharing Center, clicking Set up a connection or network, and then clicking Connect to the Internet.
      ^^ Full Guide @ http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...f1033.mspx#EMD

      Basicly what that will/should do is the Wannado would connect to the Sky and then acting as a WAN Hub any devices that connect to the Sky router are connecting up to the Wannado connection,
      So whats happening is, Your utilising the Router part of the Sky box not the Modem.
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 28-05-07 at 11:21 AM.

    4. #3
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Ok, thats sounds like a good idea, as it is everything i wanted to do, use the wanadoo connection through the Sky router. Although i hope you don't mind me asking would this also let me use the wireless feasture of the Sky router aswell?

      I will want to see other peoples opinions on this before i rush into anything as im not in a rush to break my computer or disable any connections so i can't go back to using my old router.
      Last edited by Armanie14; 28-05-07 at 11:30 AM.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      I'm not going to try to analyse your project but perhaps the method I've used with a spare Sky router (£6 at car boot sale) will illustrate the principals.

      My main computer has a wireless adapter which links it to our Sky router one floor below. In another room I have a computer linked to a flatbed scanner and I regularly scan newspaper cuttings on relevant matters for a charity I work with. These are sent to the charity by e-mail from the main computer.

      Before I got the spare router I used to transfer the scan files by floppy disc from the scanner computer to the main one. Now I have the spare router plugged into the scan computer by ethernet cable. I switch wireless channels on my wireless adapter and download the scanned files from the spare router.

      Then switch channels again and send the files out by e-mail via the Sky router hooked up to the internet downstairs.

      The only issues I had to address when using the two routers was the IP address
      -- the one accessing the internet is usually at 192.168.0.1 which is the default setting for all Sky (and Netgear brand) routers. So I had to change the address on the spare one to (for example) 192.168.0.88 so they didn't clash. I also had to switch the spare router from the default wireless channel so that it didn't interfere with the internet connected router.

      Most of the information you need for setting up the sky router is contained in the tutorials here -- but to do it you will need either a computer with a wireless adapter in it or an ethernet adapter (network socket) and connector cable. You can add these for about £20 max. Other source of information is the Netgear website -- the Sky model is the DG834GT, though the Sky router is customised so not all Netgear features are present.

      Have fun.

    6. #5
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Fair enough to both of you. I guess that is enough information for me to go away and try all of this stuff. if i get stuck then i guess i'll have to figure it out of my own!

      P.S thank you for the quick replys!!

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Yes, You should be able to use the wirless feature, So really all you could do *fingers crossed it works*
      Is to connect the Wannado up to the Netgear and then hide the Wannado away, Use the Sky as your main one.

      Or if all else fails, You could find your Wannado login (Usually in the Modem Settings) and then Flash the Sky router and then use it as a standalone without any of the Sky stuff, So it will be just as if you brought it from PCWorld, That way you will save electricity and the enviroment only having one plugged in.

      So you have Two plans, If one fails there is always another one.

    8. #7
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      I dont think the Netgear Supports WAN;



      ^^ Full Guide @ http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...f1033.mspx#EMD

      Basicly what that will/should do is the Wannado would connect to the Sky and then acting as a WAN Hub any devices that connect to the Sky router are connecting up to the Wannado connection,
      So whats happening is, Your utilising the Router part of the Sky box not the Modem.
      I realised while doing this that we have Cable/telewest internet, and a big fat cable is plugged into the back of the modem, Will you plan still work. Plus i need an extra ethernet cable and i can't go out to get one. It's just one problem after another with this i will post back when i have the other ethernet cable and tell you what happened.

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      I thought you have Wannado? Is Wannado cable broadband?

      If so that will still work, However option 2 wont (Just connecting directly on SkyROuter)

    10. #9
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      I live with my dad and his gf told me we had wanadoo, and on the browser i have the little W sign comes up so i just assumed we had it and never bothered to check anythng. But now seeing as the router is like this then i guess we dont.

      The cable into the router is chunky and the connection it copper colour, it screws in with a pin in the middle of the connection. it that makes any difference, i always thought that modems connected with i think an RJ45 and ethernet/USB?

    11. #10
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      I dont think the Netgear Supports WAN;



      ^^ Full Guide @ http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...f1033.mspx#EMD

      Basicly what that will/should do is the Wannado would connect to the Sky and then acting as a WAN Hub any devices that connect to the Sky router are connecting up to the Wannado connection,
      So whats happening is, Your utilising the Router part of the Sky box not the Modem.
      Dude, you are legendary. It worked, how do i know if the wireless is working though. I'll have to look at some guides or somthing. But thank you so much it was so easy it took like 2 minutes.

      I went to the shop to buy the Ethernet and the guy was like yeah it should work just try it, then went to a so caled "computer specialist" and they said no no no you need a Cable router.

      But yeah thaks anyway. much <3
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 29-05-07 at 03:44 PM. Reason: removed swear filter results

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION