Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Help! Free Wireless Router

    This is a discussion on Help! Free Wireless Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; The computer specialist was right in a sence, As the router needs to Support WAN, Obviously he doesnt no every ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      The computer specialist was right in a sence, As the router needs to Support WAN, Obviously he doesnt no every router inside out - WOuldnt expect him to either.

      You would also need to disable DHCP on the Sky box. See;http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

      Then you should be good to go, Just plug the Ethernet cable from the Cable Box into the 1st Port on the Sky box,
      You should see the 1 light - light up.
      Then you should be able to connect wirelessly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      My internet is working and everything, on the front of the router i see a little antenna with waves comming out, obviously the wireless signal light. This is not lit up, does that meen that the wireless conection is turned off. Or do i have to try to wirelessly connect somthing before it will light up?

      It's just im reluctant to go and spend 60 or the wireless XBOX antenna and then 40 on XBOX Subscription. It seems pointless if the wireless wont work.

      All this talk of http://192.168.0.1 and i can't connect to it. Do you think maybe because im conected through the modem that it may not work for me. It keeps coming up with a Page not Found error.

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      The http://192.168.0.1 will only work when you are connected to the Sky box,
      It does look as if the wireless is disabled, See; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      Connect to the Sky Box, With the Wire, Then, GO on the 192.168.xx.xx page, Enable Wireless, Disable DHCP.

      Then you should be good to go on the wireless.

    5. #14
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      The http://192.168.0.1 will only work when you are connected to the Sky box,
      It does look as if the wireless is disabled, See; http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-wireless.html

      Connect to the Sky Box, With the Wire, Then, GO on the 192.168.xx.xx page, Enable Wireless, Disable DHCP.

      Then you should be good to go on the wireless.
      Sorry for being ridiculously stupid(Swear at me if you like you must be frustrated now), but what do you mean connect to the sky box? Do you mean the sky router? I have done just as you said in your first post, what else do i now need to do to use wireless.

      And also which wire should i connect to the "Sky box" with?

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Sorry, Let me rephrase everything in one post.

      1) Connect your main computer up to the Sky Router - Using a Ethernet Cable, This will obviously give you no access to the internet, Just access to the Router Config Page - http://192.168.0.1

      2) Once on the Sky Router Page; Select Wireless Settings - http://192.168.0.1/wire_sel.htm&todo=cfg_init
      Make sure there is a tick in - "Enable Wireless Access Point"
      Be sure to make a note of "Network Key (8 ~ 63 characters)"
      Then Click Apply!

      3) Go onto LAN and IP Setup - http://192.168.0.1/lan.htm&todo=cfg_init
      Untick -"Use Router as DHCP Server "
      Then Click Apply

      4) Try connecting to the wireless again - Using the Key you noted in Step 2.

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      ^^ After doing those, Connect the ethernet cable from yout Cable Modem to the 1st Point on the Sky Router

    8. #17
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      It didn't work. I disconnected the modem from the router, and just had one ethernet going from the router to the computer, and still had a page not diaplayed error. To display that page would i need the internet connection first or is it just displayed internally from the router sort of.

      I can take some pictures if you like.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Try it this way - Keep this page open, connect the ethernet to the router. Click the link given in Fibre's post 1. You will then need to put in Username - admin Password - sky.

    10. #19
      Armanie14's Avatar
      Armanie14 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Try it this way - Keep this page open, connect the ethernet to the router. Click the link given in Fibre's post 1. You will then need to put in Username - admin Password - sky.
      It doesn't work though. You see in the first place when i had to set up the connection. Will that make a difference, because i didn't set up a network i just refreshed the page and it started working so ijust thought hm i suppose its fixed.

      If i set the network up and "install" the router will this make a difference to whether i can connect to that page?

    11. #20
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Help! Free Wireless Router

      Let me get this correct, You cant access the Sky Router Page?
      http://192.168.0.1 - That will only connect once you are connected to the Sky box, Either Wireless or Ethernet. This page is a local page to the router (sky) so its the only way to connect to it,

      If your on MSN il be able to talk you through it.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION