Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Limited or no connectivity

    This is a discussion on Limited or no connectivity within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Thanks for the advice. Checked the settings on my network card - seem fine and says it is all working ...

    1. #11
      quackingyellow's Avatar
      quackingyellow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Thanks for the advice. Checked the settings on my network card - seem fine and says it is all working properly. (This there any other way of testing this?)

      I checked the cable and seems to work fine when putting both ends of the cable in the router, all except with port 4 doesn't light up at all.

      Sky helpldesk's answer - we'll send you out another router!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dpearce33's Avatar
      dpearce33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      How about this for frustration
      I got connected about 5 months ago with a 1.5mb/s service (poor but as expected). About 6 weeks ago the signal collapsed with effectively little or no service. After ages on the phone Sky's answer was to cap my line at 512kb/s which is useless for me. Unfortunately it hasn't cured the problem (it's actually got worse) so now I can't maintain a connection for longer than about 2-3 minutes in an hour.
      What makes it particularly galling is that I have spent money having a new master socket wired in and all my extension wiring removed to keep it simple and sweet.
      I reckon that it is either the router that is faulty or the service. Either way it's Sky's problem and they don't appear to be interested.
      I reckon it's time to terminate my contract.

    4. #13
      garyp's Avatar
      garyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Re: losing connection regularly on one machine: I've been fine for months but now have that problem on my wireless laptop, though the wired desktop PC is ok. If I reset the laptop after it loses its connection to the network it tells me that the router has not assigned an IP, and if I try the repair it just hangs then says couldn't repair.

      Everything was fine until I tried (and managed) to get both machines doing filesharing, before that I rarely had both machines on at the same time. Thing is, I've made no changes to the router, but now even with only the laptop on and the 'connected devices' refreshed and showing only the laptop, it loses its connection after about 10 minutes. Seems crazy.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      I don't know if it would help, but you could try allocating your PC and laptop fixed addresses. If you want to try, open the router configeration, click LAN IP Setup, under Address Reservations, click add. On the next page fill in the IP address, Device Name and MAC address of your machines. I would suggest you use 192.168.0.2 for the PC and .3, for the laptop. Click Add when you have done this, return to the previous page, the addresses will be shown as reserved,check they are correct and click apply.

    6. #15
      garyp's Avatar
      garyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      So far so good, seems to be working for me.

    7. #16
      stephen501's Avatar
      stephen501 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      I had this issue with two friends of mine and solved it by accident!
      First install Sky Broadband, which i presume you have already done.
      Then simply uninstall sky broadband.
      You will find the internet connection will then work.

    8. #17
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Quote Originally Posted by stephen501 View Post
      I had this issue with two friends of mine and solved it by accident!
      First install Sky Broadband, which i presume you have already done.
      Then simply uninstall sky broadband.
      You will find the internet connection will then work.
      I'm sureyou re trying to be helpful but:
      a: this thread is over a year old
      b: uninstalling "sky broadband" makes no sense as Sky Broadbnad is the service and not the software. Please stop responding to threads of this age as it just confuses people.

    9. #18
      stephen501's Avatar
      stephen501 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      Well it worked two days ago.
      As soon as I uninstalled sky broadband, hey presto it worked and so it did for someones else who had the problem.
      Its no skin off my nose if you don't try it.

    10. #19
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited or no connectivity

      After over a year I imagine it is working

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION