Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Multiple firewalls

    This is a discussion on Multiple firewalls within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I recently subscribed to Sky Connect and immediately had problems with the Netgear834GT router frequently needing to be re-booted because ...

    1. #1
      pisces's Avatar
      pisces is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Wales
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Multiple firewalls

      I recently subscribed to Sky Connect and immediately had problems with the Netgear834GT router frequently needing to be re-booted because the "Local and Internet" signal dropped to "Local only".

      Tried to get Sky Customer Help -- very frustrating and a total waste of time !

      So,after reading various posts on this website and elsewhere I changed some settings:

      Things I changed are:
      1) Connected the router directly to the BT master test point
      2) Disabled UPnP
      3) Set Wireless Network mode to "Auto 108Mbps"
      4) Set the router up vertically to assist cooling
      5) Disabled the Windows [Vista] and Mcafee firewalls

      These changes seem to have fixed the problem.

      So, my question is: is it OK to depend solely on the router firmware's firewall?

      Note that I use broadband excusively at home i.e do not use hot spots and my neighbours are over two hundred yards away so there is no chance of anyone hacking in when I'm on WiFi.
      Last edited by pisces; 08-05-07 at 10:45 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Multiple firewalls

      Two software firewalls bad. One software, one hardware firewall good.

    4. #3
      pisces's Avatar
      pisces is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Wales
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Multiple firewalls

      To prevent firewall conflict the recommendation given on the Netgear website is as follows:

      "Disabling Conflicting Firewalls Such as Windows XP, McAfee, Norton, or Zone Alarm

      Often two firewalls on the same LAN conflict. Both are trying to do the same job; the conflict may cause an otherwise good Internet connection to drop. If this happens, use the NETGEAR firewall, and disable the other."
      Last edited by pisces; 08-05-07 at 10:55 AM.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Multiple firewalls

      It is not really a good idea depending on the router firewall only. If any nasties do get into you PC, say, through an email which the router firewall will not stop, there is nothing to stop them 'phoning home'. You really must have a software firewall installed to alert you of anything sending out from your PC. Anything coming out of your PC will be seen as OK by the router. Do not use more than one software firewall though and there is really no way it will conflict with the router.

      I should have added that if you are looking for a Vista compatible Firewall, you could try This One
      Last edited by Isitme; 08-05-07 at 09:33 PM. Reason: Added info

    6. #5
      pisces's Avatar
      pisces is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      West Wales
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Multiple firewalls

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It is not really a good idea depending on the router firewall only. If any nasties do get into you PC, say, through an email which the router firewall will not stop, there is nothing to stop them 'phoning home'. You really must have a software firewall installed to alert you of anything sending out from your PC. Anything coming out of your PC will be seen as OK by the router. Do not use more than one software firewall though and there is really no way it will conflict with the router.

      I should have added that if you are looking for a Vista compatible Firewall, you could try This One
      Thanks for this. I have re-installed the Mcafee firewall and, so far, the system seems to be operating OK.

      Incidentally, is the latest version of Mcafee compatible with Vista ?.
      Last edited by pisces; 09-05-07 at 07:40 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION