Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Firewall Question

    This is a discussion on Firewall Question within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; This is probably a stupid question but do I need to still be running a firewall now I've got my ...

    1. #1
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Firewall Question

      This is probably a stupid question but do I need to still be running a firewall now I've got my Sky broadband router? I'm using Zonealarm at the moment but is it still necessary as the router seems to have a built-in firewall? Cheers.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Firewall Question

      The firewall built into your Sky router will stop anything from getting to your computer but it will not stop anything going out which Zone Alarm will do, personally I like the extra protection so I still use ZA for this very reason but it is up to you really.

    4. #3
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firewall Question

      Ok I think I'll stick to keeping it running then. Thanks for your reply Alan.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Firewall Question

      As Alan says this is a personal preference based around how secure you feel by running / not running a firewall. I personally have never used one since joining sky and ( touch wood ) not had a problem so far. Its your choice tho.
      cheers
      dave


    6. #5
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Firewall Question

      Test Your Firewall

      test your firewall there

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Firewall Question

      You should note that this and any other online test, will test your router, not your PC. If you want to check a PC firewall you must first turn off the firewall in the router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION