Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    strange one

    This is a discussion on strange one within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; weird one this i recently changed to sky broadband and when connected could see my line speed in my system ...

    1. #1
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Question strange one

      weird one this i recently changed to sky broadband and when connected could see my line speed in my system tray ie:6mb

      after a few days that has gone and all im left with is the local area connection icon

      status connected,speed 100.0 Mbps

      (i know you have to tick the box show icon when connected)

      but where has the internet connection icon i had for a few days gone which showed my true line speed etc


      im using a netgear modem

      im used to bt voyager so i dont know why this is happening

      any ideas appreciated


      ps no wireless devices staright connection

      i cant see what true speeds im getting now in my system tray
      Last edited by newskyBOd; 29-04-07 at 11:56 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: strange one

      heres my info incase you need it

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7239 11512 0 627 5684 00:40:02
      LAN 10M/100M 12815 7800 0 5856 718 00:40:25
      WLAN 11M/54M 853 0 0 17 0 00:40:15

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4768 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 46.0 db 31.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 20.0 db

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: strange one

      If you are not using the wireless connection you would be better disabling the wireless access point. I think the router comes with security disabled as default, which is a good thing as it allows an initial connection to be made without too much trouble. Remember that many who go on to Sky go straight in with a wireless setup. However it does allow anyone who is in range tune in to your router which is not a good thing. If you don't use it disable it!

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: strange one

      Quote Originally Posted by newskyBOd View Post
      i cant see what true speeds im getting now in my system tray
      Presumably you've turned off UPnP? That's why.

    6. #5
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: strange one

      This one should be quite simple - I hope!!
      The BT Voyager modem is usb only, whilst the sky one connects via ethernet.

      The usb one will show the correct speed as you have to normally install some extra software that comes with it before you can use it.

      The sky modem just shows you the top speed of you network card, so if you had a gigabit card it would show 1000.0 mbs istead of 100

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: strange one

      The BT Voyager modem is usb only, whilst the sky one connects via ethernet
      I am afraid you are incorrect in that statement, there are many Voyagers which are ADSL/Ethernet. Here is just one which is also wireless!
      BT Shop - BT Voyager 2110 Wireless ADSL Router, Home Networks

    8. #7
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: strange one

      old thread thanks for the info just to update you my usb voyager does work on sky

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: strange one

      I have an old ST330(froggy) which I keep as a standby, it works OK, but a bit slower than the router.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION