Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router speed drops, reboot recovers speed

    This is a discussion on Router speed drops, reboot recovers speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, First post here, but longtime BB user. Switched over to Sky yesterday, and am getting good speed through it ...

    1. #1
      ghopson's Avatar
      ghopson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Maidenhead
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Router speed drops, reboot recovers speed

      Hi,
      First post here, but longtime BB user.
      Switched over to Sky yesterday, and am getting good speed through it (almost the full 16Mb/s). Lucky me. But, when I connect up a Mac laptop through the wireless interface whilst still connected via ethernet, the speed drops considerably, to about 1000 b/s. I test this by entering

      curl -O http://www.f2s.com/test8.zip

      (F2S were my old ISP)
      Only a router reboot recovers the speed. And this is with the wireless/ethernet combo still connected.

      Anyone aware of any problems with the Netgear router that might cause this? I'll be connecting/disconnecting the laptop every day, and don't particularly want to reset the damn router every time I do so.

      Thanks,
      Geoff


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ghopson's Avatar
      ghopson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidenhead
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Maidenhead
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Solved?

      Kinda solved my own issue here. The slow speed only happened when I was connected via wireless (I'm on a MacBookPro). To fix the issue, I logged into the router, went to wireless settings and set the wireles speed to Auto 108Mbs, as opposed to 'b & g' which it was set to by default.

      My download speeds have jumped from 43k/s to 1460k/s

      YMMV, but I'm OK Jack

      Geoff

    4. #3
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      so what speed do you actually connect at using wireless is it 54 or 108?

      i suppose i could change mine to the 108 speed despite only having 54 wireless cards, problem is in my area a lot of folks use the default channel to connect so that may cause more problems. i do wish people would transmit their ssid's so i can see what channels they are using and pick something else.

    5. #4
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      i do wish people would transmit their ssid's so i can see what channels they are using and pick something else.
      Hi dingdong, what utils are you using to see the other channels ?

    6. #5
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      linksys wireless monitor v.4.3

      it shows the channel, ip address, security, connection speed, mac address etc.

    7. #6
      linkin101's Avatar
      linkin101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have this exact same problem. everytime i connect a computer in the network the speed drops from 6.7mb to 2mb, and only a reboot of the router fixes the problem.

      I have a belkin 7633.
      any help on this will be greatly appreciated

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION