Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Firmware Upgrade?

    This is a discussion on Firmware Upgrade? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I've been connected to Sky broadband since yesterday. Unfortunately I keep getting disconnected every 10 minutes or so and ...

    1. #1
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Firmware Upgrade?

      Hi,

      I've been connected to Sky broadband since yesterday. Unfortunately I keep getting disconnected every 10 minutes or so and have to reboot my router. I've managed to solve this problem tonight by constantly downloading large files and have been connected for about 2 hours now although this is obviously not a permanent solution!

      Should I try a firmware upgrade? My version at the moment is 1.0.28 and I notice on Netgear's website that the latest version for what I think my router is is v3.0.31. That's for a DG834Gv2 router though and mine is a DG834GT. Mine has no information on the bottom even after peeling the Sky sticker off but I think it's the right one.

      Should I try an upgrade? Will it help solve my disconnection problems? It seems strange that they could ship a router with such an out of date version of firmware. Any help much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Hi

      The Sky firmware is customised for them, hence the difference in versions. Flashing your router is not advised, but it can be done.

      Try turning the UPnP off, this page mentions it towards the bottom and see if that helps

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html

      Also more info on the other matter is here

      Non-Sky Router Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 20-04-07 at 01:35 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Thanks for your reply NewsreadeR. I'll stop my downloads and turn UPnP off - hopefully that'll help.

    5. #4
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      That seems to have done the trick! I've been connected for an hour now with no problems. Thanks NewsreadeR.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Great news, apparently the UPnP bug will be fixed on the new Sky firmware, when it arrives though absolutely no idea.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      cjr1234's Avatar
      cjr1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Thanks!!

    8. #7
      jayyyb's Avatar
      jayyyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentside (Nottingham)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      ..or, you could download the custom firmware as described in the "tech forums" rather than wait for Sky's "revision 1" of their firmware.

      It solved all my disconnection and reboot problems.

      Sorry, for playing the same tune, but I'm astounded at the difference. Still no disconnections in 107 hours (as opposed to disconnection happening randomly every 5-10 mins)

      ...and I got uPNP and DCHP turned on..

      but like newsreader said, flashing isn't for everyone, and there is a chance something could go awry.. so be careful anyone who should choose to do it.


    9. #8
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by cjr1234 View Post
      Should I try a firmware upgrade? My version at the moment is 1.0.28 and I notice on Netgear's website that the latest version for what I think my router is is v3.0.31. That's for a DG834Gv2 router though and mine is a DG834GT. Mine has no information on the bottom even after peeling the Sky sticker off but I think it's the right one.
      Although your problem has gone now you've turned off UPnP...


      Just for future reference, in case you do ever decide to flash the Sky router with normal Netgear firmware....

      The Sky router is (as you said) a DG834GT, not a DG834G.

      If you do ever flash the Sky router with standard Netgear firmware, you'd need the DG834GT firmware - not the firmware for the DG834G.

      Support Page


      As NewsreadeR said, the firmware version numbers are different though due to the Sky firmware being custom.
      Last edited by Tezcatlipoca; 20-04-07 at 01:14 PM.

    10. #9
      coopermanyorks's Avatar
      coopermanyorks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Kirby ( 01977 )
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Pontefract , Ooop North
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Great news, apparently the UPnP bug will be fixed on the new Sky firmware, when it arrives though absolutely no idea.

      Any sign of the new software ?

      I am on V1.0.28 and I am told there is a later software version available for sky Nergear routers that improves performance ?


      Ta muchly

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Firmware Upgrade?

      the new Sky FW is not ready yet. heck, the new routers aren't meant to be going out yet (but they are) so no idea when its going live yet - and it'll be an auto download so nothing for you to do
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION