Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    upnp portmap table

    This is a discussion on upnp portmap table within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi i hope someone can clear this up for me, when i am logged on to the pc and i ...

    1. #1
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      upnp portmap table

      hi i hope someone can clear this up for me,

      when i am logged on to the pc and i go on to the netgear config page and choose upnp, it sometimes shows nothing but sometimes has a huge list of mainly TCP connections to all different ports (these all say active) but im only using vista, and haven't got any other games or programs open apart from internet explorer.

      is this normal?? or should i be worried?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Funny u mention this as i have just spotted i have 3 items in the portmap table as well but not sure what they are?

    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      The majority of people on here would recommend turning upnp off as it seems to cause problems causing the router to reboot a lot. I've done this almost since day one so cant comment on wether you should be worried or not. Maybe what your seeing is part of the bug with upnp ?
      cheers
      dave


    5. #4
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      anyone know for sure if this is just a bug?

      should i turn upnp off, what disadvantages if any are there?

    6. #5
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Quote Originally Posted by djkemp1 View Post
      anyone know for sure if this is just a bug?

      should i turn upnp off, what disadvantages if any are there?
      Sky use it as a log to see what you're doing on the 'net. Turn it off!

    7. #6
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Never had any problems with upnp turned on and not really bothered as to sky using it as a log..if they are? (.... I`ll ask my daughters b/f who works in the broadband side to confirm this one way or the other. ) Even with it turned off they could still find out what u were "doing" anyway so i`d think it was a "pointless" excercise if your trying to hide your browsing/downloading activities.

      just an example > There's no doubt that ISPs have the ability to gather a lot of information about the way their customers use the Internet. After all, every time you click a link in your browser, download messages from a newsgroup, or exchange e-mail, the data flows through your ISP's computers. If someone bothered to collect and analyze that data, they could see every move you made on the Internet.
      Last edited by Russ; 19-04-07 at 12:51 AM. Reason: added the example

    8. #7
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Quote Originally Posted by Russ View Post
      Never had any problems with upnp turned on and not really bothered as to sky using it as a log..if they are? .
      You're one of the few lucky ones on this forum that have had no problems with UPnP! If it's not for spyware I'd be interested if your daughter's b/f could tell us what it is good for, since turning it off has proved beneficial to the majority of users here?

    9. #8
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Why would they use Upnp when it would be just as easy to check their own servers?
      And lets face it how many broadband users are there now on Sky? Do you really think they would have the manpower never mind the time to troll through any figures they would get? I think not.
      Any ISP would check your habbits "if" asked to by the authorities though.
      ( as stated in Skys T&C's )

    10. #9
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      Agreed.

      But it would be interesting to discover what UPnP actually does, or is supposed to do.

    11. #10
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp portmap table

      upnp is universal plug and play
      basically instead of having to manually forward the ports on your router for a certain application (msn, bittorrent) clients with Upnp functionality will be able to talk to the router and ask for a certain port(s) to be opened so that they can communicate without NAT coming in the way!


      HTH
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION