Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

    This is a discussion on Router Not showing Up On Network Connections within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I seem to be having similar trouble to people here. My speed goes up and down vastly (0.7 to ...

    1. #1
      fuz's Avatar
      fuz
      fuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      Hi

      I seem to be having similar trouble to people here. My speed goes up and down vastly (0.7 to 8Mb). I seem to get faster speeds when the router is visible in the network connections, but most of the time it is not there.(No 2 little computers in the notification area).

      I have optimised my speed with LNB download tool
      I have rebooted my router plenty of times.
      I have turned UPnP off
      I have changed to channel 6 and am using 108Mbps
      I have checked my phone socket
      I have done the Mognut router utility

      Any help would be great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      davefaz's Avatar
      davefaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      168
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      The first thing to do is to determine whether this is a wireless or something else problem. I sounds svery much like a wireless problem. Get a wire long enough to connect the PC and try using that. I have to say that there are days when my wireless is rock solid, and others when it wanders about all over the place. Frankly, I think wireless can be a right pain. A lot easier to just buy a cable long enough!! Anyway, once you determine whether it is a wireless problem then you can concentrate on trying to sort it. good luck, it can be a slow process.

    4. #3
      fuz's Avatar
      fuz
      fuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      2 Computers dissapear when I untick UPnP. Relevant???

      I used to use a Lynksys WAG 354G router and a Lynksys WUSB54GS with my old ISP with no problems at all. Does the netgear have a poor wireless capability?

      At the moment my WUSB54GS is about 5cm away from my router but the connection is still lost sometimes. Rebooting, optimising etc on a daily basis

      I am only on day 10 after installation is this something to do with it.

    5. #4
      davefaz's Avatar
      davefaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      168
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      The Netgear is not as powerful as some others out there. I must admit that I have always found wireless a bit touch and go. Sometimes it works great, sometimes it doesn't, and sometimes there seems to be no reasons for whether it does or it doesn't! Frankly, if you can get by without wireless then I would.

      I would be tmepted to extract your user name and password from the Netgear and try using your old Linksys instead.

    6. #5
      Jimbo1960's Avatar
      Jimbo1960 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hornchurch
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      Quote Originally Posted by davefaz View Post
      I would be tmepted to extract your user name and password from the Netgear and try using your old Linksys instead.
      An excelent idea from Dave. I am sure it will resolve your wireless problems.

    7. #6
      jun10r's Avatar
      jun10r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fleetwood
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Not showing Up On Network Connections

      Assuming you have not changed the IP address of the Netgear router, change the IP address of your Linksys router to 192.168.0.2. Assuming you are using the Netgear router as a DHCP server turn of the DHCP server in the Linksys router. Change the Linksys router to operate as a router only i.e. turn off the ADSL modem. Change the Netgear router DHCP server to issue IP addresses from 192.168.0.3. Turn off the wireless access point on your new Netgear router. Then just plug the Linksys router in to the Netgear router i.e. Ethernet port 1 to Ethernet 1 and use the Linksys router as your wireless access point.
      Last edited by jun10r; 19-04-07 at 01:42 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION