Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Random Connection Loss? please help!

    This is a discussion on Random Connection Loss? please help! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, this is my first post in these forums so please bare with me! I have had the Sky router ...

    1. #1
      jcooper87's Avatar
      jcooper87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Random Connection Loss? please help!

      Hi, this is my first post in these forums so please bare with me!

      I have had the Sky router now for two weeks and it keeps randomly loosing the connection which is only solvable by reseting the router and restarting my pc. This is really buggin me now.

      I have read some threads on how to solve this but none of them have worked as of yet. I turned of Upnp but it still does it, i tried updating firmware but the router doesnt let me update it. I use cables and not wireless and there seems to be no pattern to it loosing connection it just does it.

      I have some stats for the router which are below so if someone with more brains than me can help i will be extremely grateful!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7941 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.4 12.0
      Attn(dB): 42.5 24.3
      Pwr(dBm): 921.6 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 8096 864
      Rate (Kbps): 7941 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.9831 7.7037
      L: 2075 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 46593 46591
      SFErr: 13 1
      RS: 3075192 396023
      RSCorr: 1269 0
      RSUnCorr: 348 0

      HEC: 13 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 14169111 1337462
      Data Cells: 78540 12655
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 9 1
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 14 23
      Total time = 12 min 56 sec
      SF = 46593
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 1 day time = 12 min 56 sec
      SF = 46593
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 56 sec
      SF = 46593
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Also im paying for 16mb but the downstream speed is only 8mb? whats going on there? Is there anyway i could use my old Lynksys router cos i never had a problem with that in the 2 years i used it?

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      At the time you took them stats the router had only been running for 12 minutes, if possible you need to run it for a few hours then post again to get a better idea of whats going on.

    4. #3
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      Could you try connecting via the master test socket as well then post you stats.
      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help


    5. #4
      jcooper87's Avatar
      jcooper87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      Right, ok i left it for a while but it kept loosing connection so i had to reboot but here are some updated stats.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 6830 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.6 12.5
      Attn(dB): 42.5 24.3
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 6988 864
      Rate (Kbps): 6830 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 14(0) 24
      R: 8 16
      S: 16 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 68
      B: 13 23
      M: 16 8
      T: 15 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 1.0444 7.7037
      L: 1777 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 520985 520983
      SFErr: 122 1
      RS: 32235986 4428355
      RSCorr: 22514 7
      RSUnCorr: 3008 0

      HEC: 120 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 135599279 15152852
      Data Cells: 455787 91942
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 73 1
      SES: 7 0
      UAS: 14 32
      Total time = 2 hours 20 min 37 sec
      SF = 520985
      CRC = 122
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 73
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 20 min 37 sec
      SF = 520985
      CRC = 122
      LOS = 22
      LOF = 0
      ES = 73
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 37 sec
      SF = 20854
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55756
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55632
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55756
      CRC = 8

      I have no idea what all this means, so if someone could help that would be great. Cheers

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      You have a few CRC errors occuring but not a horrendous amount I have seen worse, Have you tried plugging into the test socket behind the faceplate of your main BT socket?

    7. #6
      jcooper87's Avatar
      jcooper87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Portsmouth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Portsmouth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      No i havent yet, ill try it. If it stops loosing the connection what do i do then? replace the whole socket?

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      No, look at your extension wiring.


    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      By pulling the face plate off that should disconnect any extension wiring so you are connected direct to the BT line only, so if the problem disappears then it is most likely your wiring is causing a problem, in my case disconnecting the ring/bell wire provided a cure. This wire is not required with modern phones anyway.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      By pulling the face plate off that should disconnect any extension wiring so you are connected direct to the BT line only, so if the problem disappears then it is most likely your wiring is causing a problem, in my case disconnecting the ring/bell wire provided a cure. This wire is not required with modern phones anyway.

    11. #10
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Random Connection Loss? please help!

      Quote Originally Posted by jcooper87 View Post
      Also im paying for 16mb but the downstream speed is only 8mb? whats going on there?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html


      You have a high attenuation, & a low noise margin.


      Can't do anything about the attenuation, but you can try & improve the noise margin as mentioned earlier in the thread.


      You still couldn't get near 16mbps, but you'd at least potentially get a bit more than 8mbps, plus hopefully make it more reliable.
      Last edited by Tezcatlipoca; 13-04-07 at 02:08 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION