Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 119

    Sky Broadband Router details

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Router details within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; mattylad: yes there is a log, you can email it out or view it there...

    1. #61
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      mattylad: yes there is a log, you can email it out or view it there


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by mattylad View Post
      Hello, can anyone advise me if the router is able to interface with some logging software? I know some can have security logs etc so that you can download it all & see who has been trying to access your setup?

      Thank you.
      Mattylad.
      <rant>IMHO, the logging on this router is woeful! AFAICT, all you get is who's logged on and a few other bits and pieces and that's about it. I like to be able to see every frame right down to the ADSL level (OK - PPP would probably suffice).</rant>

      In answer to the original question, yes, use a syslogger such as Kiwi.

    4. #63
      Jackster's Avatar
      Jackster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You see im confused...on one part we see people saying that the router is the best thing since sliced bread...then we see alot and i mean alot of people complaining about this particular router...ive ran my home network for a year or so now and have used 3 different routers in that space of time...1 base machine connected by cable 3 by wireless, one of these being my buffelo wireless dvd and media player which everyone can connect to.
      Ive had sky BB for a week now and have held off commenting about this till ive tried every fix.. tweaked all my settings possible...so i could make a fair and valid comment when ever possible.
      Its not good chaps the router is simply not up to it..wirelessly (LESS) would be the operative word, be it firmware or hardware..we should not have to be trawling forums to fix or try and fix something that is billed as easy to set up.

      My my wireless media/dvd player buffers like mad and drops connection all the time and all but one pc that all worked wirelessly for over 2 years have reverted back to cable connected because the wireless network is just too unpredictable.. and yes i have tried most settings and fixes suggested on these forums...with so many people complaining about this particular bit of hardware im surprised that more time is not spent on thinking how to resolve this problem instead of insisting that the router is fantastic and making us use it by tying our BB connection to it when you know and i know its simply not up to the job right now...seems simple before sending anymore out get your firmware sorted out or recall them and send us a router that works as it should....i doubt either will happen...but you never know (i wont hold my breath)

      ...jack

    5. #64
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Yes. And no.

      The router is free and in that sense, it could be a pack of 12 bog rolls - but it would be difficult to justify complaining that "this router that you've given me is good for one thing only" because that one thing is still free.

      However, the preposterous part of this is that Sky insist that you use their router. They would justify this from a support perspective, but I think that they have not thought this policy through for two reasons.

      1. To enforce it, they prevent users from setting up their own routers by hiding the user passwords. However, in tightening things up, they have prevented themselves from changing it - AFAICT! The consequence is that if a user finds out somehow what it is, Sky have shot themselves in their own foot (feet?) because even if they roll out a firmware update to each router, the password stays the same. Once the horse has bolted... (and indeed for many users it already has).

      2. The kind of people that want to use their own routers are, by and large, knowledgable and are the ones least likely to want support anyway. The serious posters in this forum, for example, know far more than Sky support themselves. The ones that need support are the ones that don't want to or can't use their own router. So, IMHO, Sky would have been better saying that users can use their own routers but Sky will only support their ones. (Even that is a dubious claim - but that's another story.)

      I, for one, hope that they change their contract to say just that.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    6. #65
      Geothermalcat's Avatar
      Geothermalcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear DG834GT as Standard with SkyBB?

      am i getting this straight....
      Do Sky provide a Netgeat DG834GT Router as standard on the 8mb package?

      im currently using one and i only got my line changed over and activated yesterday, called them up to confirm this yet they said they could only use there provided router on their network.

      so if you do get the netgear as standard, why isnt mine connecting?

      ive even tried connecting to the network with the dns's pre inputted instead of getting it to search for them. but i just get a "CHAP Authentication Failure" error message.

      please someone enlighten me

    7. #66
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi i'm not sure if you are saying you are trying to connect using a non-sky router - if that is the case you will not be able to connect to the sky service until you get your sky router.

      If you have your sky router and your sky service has been enabled (check on the BT order checker) and you cannot connect - that is a different matter and you will need to contact sky to ask then why you are not connecting

    8. #67
      Geothermalcat's Avatar
      Geothermalcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      yea, i mean is the standard sky router that they send you, what brand and model is the router they provide?

      cheers
      -jon

    9. #68
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Cast your eyes to the thread title

    10. #69
      Geothermalcat's Avatar
      Geothermalcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i just needed to confirm it, but thats what im using, but i purchased this one myself, does the one provided by sky have specialised firmware?

    11. #70
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes it does.

      It contains a built in username and password (not visible) - there may be other differences but to my knowledge no one has identified any more
      Last edited by dingdong; 29-09-06 at 11:59 AM.

     

     
    Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION