Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 119

    Sky Broadband Router details

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Router details within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; The router comes with "respond to ping on WAN" enabled, might be a good idea to disable that....

    1. #41
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The router comes with "respond to ping on WAN" enabled, might be a good idea to disable that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      A little light reading about the router here.

      This being the interesting bit if available
      # cat /tmp/nvram | grep pppoa_

      This will output the contents of the nvram file to 'grep' which will scan this output, match against the search string that was passed to the command and then return any results that it finds:

      pppoa_username=user@isp.com
      pppoa_password=abc123ABC
      Last edited by LNB; 23-08-06 at 10:57 PM.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #43
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just tried that but it seems the telnet is password protected, tried the usual passwords and username

    5. #44
      Sporg's Avatar
      Sporg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      VPN access

      Hi there,

      Got a bit of a different question. I am considering moving over to skybb, But at the moment my ability to work for my employer is dependent on vpn access to my work place, Can anyone confirm 100% that you are able to set and enable the vpn pass through settings on the router.

      Help much appreciated

      Regards

      Sporg

    6. #45
      charltonfan1's Avatar
      charltonfan1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Sporg View Post
      Hi there,

      Got a bit of a different question. I am considering moving over to skybb, But at the moment my ability to work for my employer is dependent on vpn access to my work place, Can anyone confirm 100% that you are able to set and enable the vpn pass through settings on the router.

      Help much appreciated

      Regards

      Sporg
      I too would like to know this!

    7. #46
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No VPN as far as I can see:




      edit: for those without a skyuser account and cant view attachments - i have added it here
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Broadband Router details-netgear.jpg  
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 29-08-06 at 09:45 PM. Reason: added another link for your picture ;-)

    8. #47
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      we shall seek confirmation of this
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #48
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      If i'm not mistaken, Newsreader uses VPN through his router, not SKY modded though.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    10. #49
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      yep VPN works fine for me no probs, without the sky firmware, however like Satdish has said, we have asked for clarification. Hopefully we will have an answer tomorrow




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #50
      Sporg's Avatar
      Sporg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      yep VPN works fine for me no probs, without the sky firmware, however like Satdish has said, we have asked for clarification. Hopefully we will have an answer tomorrow
      Thanks for checking into this for me, have gone ahead with the sign up but if VPN dose not work I will have to cancel .

      Regards

      Sporg

     

     
    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION