Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 119

    Sky Broadband Router details

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Router details within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Early reports suggest no username or password needed or shown in router. This may indicate authentication is by MAC code, ...

    1. #31
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Early reports suggest no username or password needed or shown in router. This may indicate authentication is by MAC code, so a bit of cloning and any router might work.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tks LNB and SkyDish. Will watch out for any postings regarding using the DG834G rather than the DG834GT.

    4. #33
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      just got this from customer support....

      Sky Broadband is only for use with the Sky Broadband Box provided free with all broadband products and any other router not specified by Sky cannot be used with this service. The make and model of the Sky Broadband Box used is a Netgear DG834GT which has been customised for Sky. Please note that this is not the same as the retail model of Netgear routers sold on stores and this is why your currently router could not be used.
      just a standard reply
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    5. #34
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Tks SatDish. What do you make of " and any other router not specified by Sky cannot be used with this service."

      "not specified by sky" - does this mean there is a list of compatable routers?

    6. #35
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      I'm not really sure about that something for the future perhaps..? but like LNB said if you have a router that can MAC spoof then you might be able to use that, but if its free and better then the one you got ( i know its better then my one) why not use it and put the old beast on ebay,
      as they are saying you got to use there equipment then there not much hope for a discounted connection I'm afraid .
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    7. #36
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by Skygazing View Post
      Getting a bit confused here chaps. Will Sky be dishing out (excuse pun) the
      DG834GT or the DG834G. Reason I ask is because I already have a DG834G and was hoping that I could get Sky to waive the 40 quid or so Connection/Application fee as I dont need their router.

      Hi Skygazing, you get the DG834GT as it has there firmware, and its wireless, however if you only have a netword card in your pc, it will still work.

      HAve u signed up to it yet?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #37
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Mmmm - might have to be a rethink then. I've only had this DG834G for a couple of months, so am a bit reluctant to get rid of it. Besides my exchange is not LLU'd yet (could be 12 months away). Will have to watch developments of the b/band rollout to see if everything goes smoothly. If it does then I might bite the bullet and save myself 7.99 a month.

    9. #38
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      rumour has it some staff have visited already (and are fully aware of this site) so we can always ask them for you.

      Big brother will get back to you

      even saving 7.99 is about 7 months for you to get the cost back of the router you have, one or two rumours of been able to spoof the mac of the router (although unconfirmed), which basically means you could use any router. However we cannot say a definitive yes, you can use your own router.

      At the end of the day, i personnally feel SKY BB is gonna stitch the other ISP's up, on staff, roll out and general excellent product range. I would not abandon it yet!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #39
      Skygazing's Avatar
      Skygazing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scarborough UK
      Posts
      96
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Hi Skygazing, you get the DG834GT as it has there firmware, and its wireless, however if you only have a netword card in your pc, it will still work.

      HAve u signed up to it yet?
      Hi NewsreadeR - if by signed up you mean I have my MAC code ready - then no.

      I registered an interest a couple of weeks ago and received an email to the effect that all that is available to me is the Sky Connect service.
      At 17 a month that would be a saving of 7.99 a month which aint bad.

      What worries me is all the horror stories of late regarding new broadband services - no names -.

      Looks like my best option might be to sit on the fence and see how the rollout goes. Or then again I could move house to an area that has LLU - could prove expensive tho eh?

    11. #40
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      At 17 a month that would be a saving of 7.99 a month which aint bad.
      7.99 a month saving has got to be good!

      as for the horror stories, i assume you mean Plusnet / Tiscali? To put it in persepctive SKY have more than 10x the value of Plusnet as a company available for advertising alone.

      SKY have been around for years, and despite the high cost of SKY tv, have an excellent reputation. The fact that they now offer BB as well, can only mean good things for the users. The future is the internet, TV on demand, etc, and all SKY are doing is gearing up for this. BT have not got the infilstructure to compete, and very few big players have the resources or instinctiveness to dominate the market.

      Sky are gonna do just this and the fact that you can save 7.99 for the sake of a phone call /email, shows the valu imho.

      I cannot get get LLU until December 2006, however i can save 39.95 in the meantime and get far more than my existing ISP can offer me. (and i get a free router - although the same as i already have)

      Sit on the fence, for a while, then decide what is best for you, as more and more people sign up and share their experiences, we can all only learn, and make more informed decisions.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION