Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
    Results 111 to 119 of 119

    Sky Broadband Router details

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Router details within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Hugh, I am not familiar with the Dlink router, but the firewall will already be on . The intrusions ...

    1. #111
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Hi Hugh,

      I am not familiar with the Dlink router, but the firewall will already be on .

      The intrusions recorded in the log are unlikely to be "attacks" but simply the internet going about its business. There will always be unsolicited connection attempts by such things as search engine spiders and the like. The firewall is doing its job and recording them in the log, but most people neither know nor care that they are happening.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #112
      Hugh Fraser's Avatar
      Hugh Fraser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      Hi Hugh,

      I am not familiar with the Dlink router, but the firewall will already be on .

      The intrusions recorded in the log are unlikely to be "attacks" but simply the internet going about its business. There will always be unsolicited connection attempts by such things as search engine spiders and the like. The firewall is doing its job and recording them in the log, but most people neither know nor care that they are happening.
      Ok Thanks, MoleMan, great help.

    4. #113
      deadme's Avatar
      deadme is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      can i ask i have the sagem/ sky router and i changed the password from the default " sky" to a different one but now cant remember it . " thick i no" is there any way i can reset it to the default admin : sky combination ?
      i have tryed reseting the router but its kept the same password as far as i can gather. anyone ?

    5. #114
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      You have to hold the reset button in for a few seconds
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #115
      bwfc0907's Avatar
      bwfc0907 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Netgear router just failed after 3 years so have been sent a Sagem with FW1.5, how & where do I get updates FW?

    7. #116
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      383
      Thanks
      75
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Quote Originally Posted by bwfc0907 View Post
      Netgear router just failed after 3 years so have been sent a Sagem with FW1.5, how & where do I get updates FW?
      As far as I know, they are sent through automatically from Sky to your router, usually during the early hours of the morning, but I'm not 100 percent on this though.

    8. #117
      yorkie_pudd's Avatar
      yorkie_pudd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Intake, Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: SKy MAX (was forced adsl2+ on my netgear but god knows what i'm on now)
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Hackenthorpe, Sheffield
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      I have had the Sagem router since my Netgear died last September, and what a bag of sh***e. The firmware has been updated at some point (2.8 now), my sync has rapidly gone downhill in the last 3 or 4 weeks, it refuses to sync with an SNR of less than 20 ish and the lag is attrocious (it takes several seconds just to log into the router itself).

      I am now trying to find a suitable Sky/Netgear on ebay to replace this with, unless any other suggestions?

    9. #118
      yorkie_pudd's Avatar
      yorkie_pudd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Intake, Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: SKy MAX (was forced adsl2+ on my netgear but god knows what i'm on now)
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Hackenthorpe, Sheffield
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      BTW did sky supply the DG834 in white or just black? I want a DG834GT.

    10. #119
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Quote Originally Posted by yorkie_pudd View Post
      BTW did sky supply the DG834 in white or just black? I want a DG834GT.
      You want a white one then.

      The white Sky router was a DG834GT.

      The black Sky (DG934) Netgear was based on the Netgear DG834G version 3 with the AR7 chipset.

     

     
    Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION