Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 119

    Sky Broadband Router details

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Router details within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Dg934...

    1. #101
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Dg934
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      zepler's Avatar
      zepler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      I have a Sagem F@ST 2504 and out of interest have been looking at the router log. I found several entries at a time when none of our PCs were switched on so would like to get a better understanding of what they are trying to tell me! Unfortunately the mnemonics used are beyond me so I would grateful if somebody could help by, for example, explaining the following;

      Aug 30 12:05:54 (none) user.alert kernel: Intrusion -> IN=ppp_0_38_1 OUT= MAC= SRC=90.209.33.245 DST=90.210.227.233 LEN=48 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=123 ID=33046 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=37507 DPT=445 WINDOW=16384 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0

      This is the entry for when my wife switched on. I was surprised it doesn't log the MAC address. However understanding what SRC and DST mean would seem to be the key?
      All contributions to my education gratefully received, no doubt once explained I will think it should have been self evident

    4. #103
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Just a guess, but I think its probably source and destination.

    5. #104
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Has your firmware been updated?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #105
      zepler's Avatar
      zepler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      I haven't updated my firmware so unless its automatic the answer is no. The current version I have is: A2pB023o.d20h

    7. #106
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      No that's the ADSL version, you want the one right at the top of the status page. Sagems are being updated automatically, that's why I ask. The intrusion was from a Sky address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #107
      zepler's Avatar
      zepler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Thanks
      I thought it was a rather complicated version number! What I have is 1.9Sky.

      There were several entries in the log during this time is that usual? DST meaning destination does seem a sensible guess (obviously too sensible for me!) as the IP address when tracked at (utrace - locate IP addresses and domainnames) did point to my home town; however the SCR IP addresses vary and on tracking give different geographic locations although all except one is a sky address.
      The different one is reported as coming from a Japanese "internet research project! How accurate Utrace is I don't know.

      I hadn't realised that Sagem was being automatically updated, I think this comforting! Although it does offend my control freak inclinations wrt my PC!

    9. #108
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      That is the present version, so it is not updated yet. The updates started some time ago but were suspended when several bugs were reported. I thought they may have started again.

      If you have Respond to Ping on Wan enabled, turn it off and some of the intrusions may stop. It may be possible you had the address of a gamer who had opened ports for his gaming. You will not have the ports open so it is shown as an intrusion. That is the problem with dynamic addresses, you will get traffic for who had the address before you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #109
      zepler's Avatar
      zepler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Thanks to both people who replied, TomD in particular. I am now better informed and happier re what's in the log. I'll stop the pings and monitor the log for while
      many thanks

    11. #110
      Hugh Fraser's Avatar
      Hugh Fraser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Larne
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Sky Broadband Router details

      Hi Everyone,
      New Sky Broadband User here. I am also concerned about the Intrusion, I have the Black D-Link Router, Can I turn on the Firewall? BTW, I'm on a Mac. Really hope someone can help as I am quite concerned about these "attacks" on the system.

      I am running Firmware Version: SKY_1.11, We have had the Broadband less than a week so it's still training so to speak, but came down this morning to find it had lost connection and was flashing orange but as soon as I restarted the router it was fine.
      Hugh
      Last edited by Hugh Fraser; 31-08-10 at 01:38 AM. Reason: Added more details.

     

     
    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION