Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Failed Router

    This is a discussion on Failed Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Well, after exactly one month of flawless service, my router seems to have died. Suddenly started getting 'Page not found', ...

    1. #1
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Question Failed Router

      Well, after exactly one month of flawless service, my router seems to have died. Suddenly started getting 'Page not found', then realized the router had gone down. No internet light and Sky check shows Error 200. Plugged in my old ST330 Frog and bingo, I have a connection. Plugged in my Solwise 110 and I have a better connection, I am using it now. I thought it might have been the net that was down when the Netgear stopped working, so I plugged it back in and it still refuses to even sync. I don't think there is much doubt that it is the cause of the problem.

      From what I have read on these forums, over the last few months, I am not too keen to call Sky CS just yet. I am wondering, if somehow the router has lost the login details. Would re-flashing the router with the Sky firmware replace the existing details and possibly get it working again? If anyone thinks it may help, I will try it at the weekend. Failing that I will grit my teeth and call Sky support next week.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Failed Router

      Try resetting it by pushing a pen in the little hole in the back for about 15 seconds or so.

      You will lose any custom settings you have made.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Failed Router

      Sorry, I should have said, I had already tried that, with no result. The only setting I had to replace was disabling the wireless, which I don't use.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Failed Router

      Well that did not take too long, plugged in the Netgear, the lights flashed for a second or two, then nothing. I immediately suspected a duff power supply for my problem, so I tried the one from my Solwise, same V and Amp. This time nothing, no lights, nothing. It looks like I have a router like the John Cleese's parrot! The question of re-flashing it, does not now apply.

      Rather than start phoning CS I am going to try the Web page fault report. Anyone had any results from this?

      One further thought, I have read that the present router is being replaced with a more up to date model, would it be in my interest to wait until they are being supplied, before reporting the fault? I am quite happy using my Solwise, which is just as fast as the Netgear and has never failed over years of use, so my web use is not being hindered in any way.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Failed Router

      would it be in my interest to wait until they are being supplied, before reporting the fault? I am quite happy using my Solwise,
      This will be months away afaik




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Failed Router

      I have started the on line help process, we will see how it goes.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION