Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    BT socket re-wiring

    This is a discussion on BT socket re-wiring within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; A couple of weeks ago I followed a link on someone's post here that gave instructions on checking and disconnecting ...

    1. #1
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT socket re-wiring

      A couple of weeks ago I followed a link on someone's post here that gave instructions on checking and disconnecting redundant telephone circuits in my extension sockets (to cut down the number of CRC's). I've lost the link. Does anyone know where it might be, thanks.

      In essence, apparently modern BT sockets have two terminals only wired up, 2 and 4 I think, whereas in mine there are six terminals connected. Also I haven't got a master socket with a test plug, nor can I identify which of the three extensions is the Master.

      Extended stats:
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 5504 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.9 22.0
      Attn(dB): 41.0 25.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.6 11.8
      Max(Kbps): 6016 1100
      Rate (Kbps): 5504 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 173(0) 15
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 196 15
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 1.0710 9.0000
      L: 1576 128
      D: 16 2
      Counters
      SF: 126621 126619
      SFErr: 29 0
      RS: 8610236 1076261
      RSCorr: 4449770 0
      RSUnCorr: 384 0

      HEC: 28 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 27941451 0
      Data Cells: 408226 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 167 0
      SES: 145 0
      UAS: 65 0
      Total time = 48 min 41 sec
      SF = 165789
      CRC = 7747
      LOS = 24
      LOF = 0
      ES = 167
      Latest 1 day time = 48 min 41 sec
      SF = 165789
      CRC = 7747
      LOS = 24
      LOF = 0
      ES = 167
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 41 sec
      SF = 13057
      CRC = 7
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 14
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 46872
      CRC = 7718
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 135

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5504 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 22.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Maybe in here somewhere

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      Sorry can't be more specific




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      I think I know which one you mean.. The 14 page long webpage one... Demon.pipex summot..?

      Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring

    5. #4
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      I think I know which one you mean.. The 14 page long webpage one... Demon.pipex summot..?

      Guide to rewiring internal UK phone wiring
      It wasn't this one but thanks, it seems even more detailed so I'll have a read.
      GBY!

    6. #5
      Jonnie Brutal's Avatar
      Jonnie Brutal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Hopefully i can clear up your problem with the wiring of your sockets and the faceplate i.d.

      Firstly, your BT line should be presented via a black cable from the outside. There typically is only 4 wires Orange, White, Black and Green.
      The line is normally presented on the Orange and the White and is referred to as a 'pair'.
      If you had a standard BT socket this pair would be terminated with the screw connections on the back of the main part of the faceplate. If you had a Master socket instead of a BT one the only terminals you need to use are the numbers 2 and 5, (a master socket is identified by having a yellow, or sometimes white, component above the wiring terminals on the faceplate, a slave would have no components at all).
      This will then be your working and ringing BT line socket.

      To then wire up extensions you can use either another master socket or a slave socket.
      The extension master is wired up in the same way as the BT master using terminals 2 and 5. You should not need any other wires.
      The extension slave is wired up using terminals 2 and 5 but you also need to connect a single wire to terminal 3 on your BT and your slave. This single wire gives the ringing function on the slave socket for any phone or device you may plug into it.

      Typical wiring and colours on cw1308 telephone cable are:

      2 = Blue/White (line)
      5 = White/Blue (line)
      3 = Orange/White (ringer)

      NO OTHER TERMINALS ON THE SOCKET FACEPLATES ARE REQUIRED.

      Hope this explains what you need to know.

      Let me know how you get on.

      Jonnie

    7. #6
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      The majority of apparatus (telephones, fax's etc) already have a ring capacitor built into them, so there is no need to connect terminal 3 (Bell Circuit)

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Thats a very comprehensive guide, here's the shorter one I used.

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help


    9. #8
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      DSL Zone UK was the one I was searching for. But thanks all of you for your help.
      I have succesfully operated on all my BT access points now and both broadband and telephones are working sweetly.

      Thanks again.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      To then wire up extensions you can use either another master socket or a slave socket.
      The extension master is wired up in the same way as the BT master using terminals 2 and 5. You should not need any other wires.
      The extension slave is wired up using terminals 2 and 5 but you also need to connect a single wire to terminal 3 on your BT and your slave. This single wire gives the ringing function on the slave socket for any phone or device you may plug into it.


      I dont agree with previous post that states that you can have more than one master socket on a line. My mate moved into a new house last year and complained to BT that he couldn't hear people on his phone, speech and the dial tone were very quiet. Turned out it was because someone had used a master socket for an extension. i.e. 2 masters connected to the same line. They removed the second master fitted a proper slave socket worth about a fiver and charged him 120 because it wasn't a fault on there line!!

      Oh and Gaztops is right the bell wire is not required, it actually caused my Sky router to log massive a massive amount of errors and keep dropping off line. Disconnecting the bell wire fixed the problem and all the phones still ring Ok.
      Last edited by Koala5; 03-04-07 at 11:50 PM.

    11. #10
      Jonnie Brutal's Avatar
      Jonnie Brutal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Thanks for the input and comments guys. It just goes to show one fix does not fit all. DSL ZONE does have the end fix on it's web site and the micro filters will supply a ring to any items attached.

      But if you read the first post the enquirer was totally stuffed with over wired sockets and no idea where his line was.

      My post should have put him straight enough to get back to square one, i am sure he's clever enough to work out any other issues and to use DSL Zone as advised.

      I am not being defensive by any means but the bespoke problems each person suffers with their telephone line is whole reason we use engineers to fix them. Each point has it's individual route from the exchange passing lord knows what and for lord knows how far. I am lucky, i live about 200 yards from my exchange. So i have full whacking great broadband. The guy that couldn't use a second master could have been miles from his exchange or the previous master could have been faulty. If he had replaced the socket himself before calling BT he may have found out. Too many scenarios to run through eh.
      We have not all got new and updated wiring in our houses. Some installs i have seen needed a complete rewire due to old twisted core cabling and rubbish junction boxes and years of playing by anyone with a screwdriver, crimp tool and insertion tool leave fellows like Dancing dog in the situation he was in.

      I'm happy that now with our help he should be totally sorted and well informed for tackling his Broadband setup.
      I'm sure that he will be able to assist family, friends or anyone else who will, i am sure, have similar difficulties.

      Hurrah!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION