Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    BT socket re-wiring

    This is a discussion on BT socket re-wiring within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I am not being defensive by any means but the bespoke problems each person suffers with their telephone line is ...

    1. #11
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      I am not being defensive by any means but the bespoke problems each person suffers with their telephone line is whole reason we use engineers to fix them. Each point has it's individual route from the exchange passing lord knows what and for lord knows how far. I am lucky, i live about 200 yards from my exchange. So i have full whacking great broadband. The guy that couldn't use a second master could have been miles from his exchange or the previous master could have been faulty. If he had replaced the socket himself before calling BT he may have found out. Too many scenarios to run through eh.

      No I'm not being defensive either, I don't think any of us on here can claim to be experts but with all our little bits of knowlodge we manage to fix many problems which is great.
      My mate was about half a mile from from the exchange, unfortunately he had no idea on the subject of telephones and wiring, so when his phone wasn't working properly his first thought was to ring Bt.
      Twisted pair is still the prefered option for data and telephone wiring because it reduce's cross talk and noise but I agree many installations have alot to be desired!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      I have two NTE5's. Where my line enters the house I used a Block terminal 77B to split my internal wiring. One spur is dedicated to my broadband while the other spur services my phones. Each spur has an NTE5 fitted and I have no problems. I have a 2Mb connection and speed tests show 1.9Mb download speed.(how accurate these speed tests are is another matter).

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Sky are Lost


      Should it not be
      Sky have Lost
      (Virgin don't)



    5. #14
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      When it comes to customer service, Sky are lost, they haven't got a clue.

      The worst company I've ever had dealings with.

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Sky Customer Service is reasonably good, If you think Sky is bad, try Orange.

    7. #16
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Sky Customer Service is reasonably good, If you think Sky is bad, try Orange.

      LOL, or O2.


      Or Microsoft.


      Or... the dreaded ntl (tho' they may be better now they're "Virgin Media").

    8. #17
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      The O2 Select customer service is brilliant (Contract) never had a problem.

      Microsoft, Does it exist?

    9. #18
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      Hmm, I've always found O2 CS to be useless.


      Microsoft CS... easily amongst the worst I've ever experienced.

    10. #19
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      People who haven't had any trouble with Sky broadband or Sky TV are obviously going to say that the CS is reasonably good.

      I've never had to contact Orange customer support because I'm fortunate that the broadband worked straight out of the box without having to tweak settings and mess about with internal wiring.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: BT socket re-wiring

      I've never had to contact Orange customer support
      Ahhh, so you might yet be changing your sig to

      Sky are Lost
      so are Orange

      I think you should remember that there are thousands, possibly hundreds of thousand with Sky, who are in the same position as you are with Orange, whose equipment 'worked out of the box'.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION