Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    stampsup

    This is a discussion on stampsup within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Yes, you have to open the PC, but it is fairly easy as long as you are careful. Here are ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stampsup

      Yes, you have to open the PC, but it is fairly easy as long as you are careful. Here are a couple of tutorials on fitting a card.
      Installing a computer network card.
      Install Modem / Network card / Sound Card - installing a PCI card

      Before you buy, open your PC and check that you have a spare PCI slot. You can see what this looks like in the second page above. I have found the Intel Pro series quite dependable and you can pick them up on eBay for a few pounds.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stampsup

      Quote Originally Posted by stampsup View Post
      Thanks for reply
      No, i have connected from work. Have norton 2000 anti-virus never had any problems, but who/where is AVG or AVAST.
      I run an imedia 6200 packard bell computer with windows ME, bought aprox in 2000. it has no earthnet, so im using the wieless adapter from netgear bought from argos, but im having problems setting up.
      i have a town house, main BT socket is downstaires, extention on second floor has a 3 way adapter for second cordless phone,sky tv and another extentio for top floor where computer is.
      Have plugged in router and usb wireless.
      Bottom right of screen is a computer sign that is green, on desktop is a blue tv icon, but when i click on this computer stats dialing but nothing else happens.
      is this the right icon, (i currently have dial up with freeserve)
      how do i connect to the sky broadband
      Only wanted broadband for ever increasing use by my children, but this is stressing me out with frustration and as for sky help wast of time.
      Any help please.
      Hi Again,

      Your wireless adapter should have come with some software to connect it to your a wireless signal.

      It may be running already - that little green icon you mention sounds promising - when you hover over it with your mouse pointer does it tell you what it is - failing that hover over it and click on it with the right hand mouse button and see if it gives you any options.

      Failing that, click on your start button - and take a look at your programs for a Netgear entry - Once you find it you should be on the right track.

      In your Sky pack you should have got a little card that has your Router ID and a WPA passphrase - you'll need these to make the router accept your adapter as an allowed device.

      Your Adapter should have come with some instructions on how to make it connect to a router, see if you can dig these out - netgear instructions are normally pretty good.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    4. #13
      stampsup's Avatar
      stampsup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thamesmead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      LONDON
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stampsup

      Don't ask me how but i'm all hooked up, thanks for help.
      How do i get hold of AVG or AVAST?.
      Now to work out how to transfer my emails.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: stampsup

      AVG Free = AVG Free Advisor: AVG Anti-Virus Free
      While you are there pick up AVG Anti-spy, it is free and well worth installing
      Remember that you don't have to use Wireless unless your house setup requires it. Generally a wired connection will give you a better speed and more consistent performance.

    6. #15
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: stampsup

      Quote Originally Posted by stampsup View Post
      Don't ask me how but i'm all hooked up, thanks for help.
      How do i get hold of AVG or AVAST?.
      Now to work out how to transfer my emails.
      As you already have Norton, and it has caused you no problems, I would stick with that - AVG and AVAST as both very good antivirus programs, but no point switching if you are happy with your current one.

      Glad you're all sorted!
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION