Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

    This is a discussion on Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all. This is my first post so please be gentle! the answer to my question may well be already ...

    1. #1
      nijbuck's Avatar
      nijbuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Redditch, Worcs.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Hi all.
      This is my first post so please be gentle!
      the answer to my question may well be already here somewhere - apologies if it is but I haven't found it yet.

      Anyway - got my Sky Max 2 days ago and all went swimmingly well at first.

      Then - I decided to play! I tried to forward my port for Utorrent, but in doing so I have now lost my connection completely. I have wireless connection to the router ok, but when I log in to it, whereas before, the IP address, IP Subnet Mask, Gateway IP Address and Domain Name Server were all listed, now there is nothing.

      I've phoned Sky but am now waiting for a call back which could be 5 days away!

      I'd be really grateful if anyone could help me get my old settings back!

      Many thanks

      nijbuck


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Jinx, Were on the same exchange, You could try resetting the router fully, e.g. Hitting the little reset button on the back with a pin!

      However dont see really how port forwarding could have effected those other settings!

    4. #3
      nijbuck's Avatar
      nijbuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Redditch, Worcs.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Hi FibreOptic!

      I tried resetting the router already - no good.

      In forwarding the port, I had to give my pc a static IP address. This worked fine initially, but when I switched it back on the next day - nothing.

      I've gone through the all the 'Connection Help' tips with still no joy. I'm sure I'm missing a trick somewhere but just can't figure it out!

      Thanks for your reply anyway fellow Redditch-ite!

    5. #4
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      I think you are missing the point the the IP address, IP Subnet Mask, Gateway IP Address and Domain Name Server on the router is assigned once the router is connected.

      Is your router syncing, if so then have a look at the logs to see what that says it would probably be saying something like LCP down, LCP allowed to come up if those messages keep coming up then you have a connection fault more likely with sky's end.
      If it is not syncing then you have a line fault.

      And seeing that fibreoptic is on the same exchange then you can rule that out.

      post back and let us know.

    6. #5
      nijbuck's Avatar
      nijbuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Redditch, Worcs.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Hi pjclews

      Thanks for your post - you are talking to Mr. Thick here! Not sure how I'd know if my router is syncing? I've looked at the logs (security logs? - sys log is disabled) and all that tells me is that the administraror has logged in successfully.

      It just seems strange that all was working great until I messed around with port forwarding and I'm sure I've done something to screw things up!

      Sky have told me the line is working fine, just miffed that it'll be 3-5 working days before they can get back to me again.

      I'm really grateful for any advice that may help!

    7. #6
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      i might be getting the wrong end of the stick......
      if you put in 192.168.0.1 into your web browser what does it say ....cut and paste it in your reply?

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      I just wonder if you have turned off the server by accident. You can check this by opening your LAN properties (on your PC), highlight Internet protocol and click the Properties button. When the pane opens select the 'Use this IP address' and in the boxes type-
      Ip address - 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask- 255.255.255.0
      Gateway - 192.168.0.1
      Leave the rest empty.
      Reboot the PC and router. See if you can connect.

      This may not be the problem but if you are stuck, it is worth a try. If it does not work, go back to the LAN properties and select the 'Obtain an address automatically' button.

    9. #8
      nijbuck's Avatar
      nijbuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Redditch, Worcs.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      pjclews - I can log into the router ok, but next to IP address, IP Subnet Mask, Gateway IP Address and Domain Name Server , there is nothing - whereas before I messed around with port forwarding, there were values listed.

      Isitme - Thanks for your suggestion, but I already tried this with no success!

    10. #9
      pjclews's Avatar
      pjclews is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMLON
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Router Status

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.02.28

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:14:6C*****
      IP Address 90.1******
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255 these here are missing
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.249.41
      Domain Name Server 87.86.189.16

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:*********
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 3776 kbps is there anything showing here
      UpStream Connection Speed 768 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY17321
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP Disabled
      Broadcast Name Disabled

      have a look at mine......if the first section is missing then you are not connected to internet more likely to be sky's end.......if the second section doesnt report any up/down connection speed then you have line fault (suggest you check you phone line i.e. can you still ring out on phone...then check microfilters etc....last resort phone sky up to tell them that the router isnt syncing)
      doing anything with port forwarding would not cause this.

    11. #10
      nijbuck's Avatar
      nijbuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Redditch, Worcs.
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help! I've lost sky after 2 days!

      Under ADSL Port I have nothing except a MAC address andNetwork Type.

      Under LAN Port I have the same as you.

      Under Modem I have Modem Satus CONNECTING, and I have no downstream or upstream speeds!

      Wireless Port is the same as you.

      I think therefore that it must be a problem Sky's end and I'm just going to have to wait for them to sort it out. Very frustrating!

      Thanks for your help.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION