Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Router malfunction?

    This is a discussion on Sky Router malfunction? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Tonight when I switched on my router, it was taking ages for the "line" light to go orange/green. Then my ...

    1. #1
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router malfunction?

      Tonight when I switched on my router, it was taking ages for the "line" light to go orange/green. Then my wife told me that the telephone line had gone dead. I disconnected - line wire out - the router and the phone line was working again.
      Have swapped the micro-filters over since then, so do you think my router is faulty? I really hate this stupid Netgear rubbish we have to use. My old BT 1800 HG was much superior!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      It is possible to configure your 1800 to work with Sky, but as it is tied to BT it is a bit more involved than a 'free' router. If you are interested you can find instructions HERE Instructions on how to get your username/password can be found in the Tech bit of this forum.

    4. #3
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Thanks for the link, and I already have the username/password from using Mosseywell's Bounce program. Funny thing is, the BT router worked beautifully with my Virgin.net broadband but with Sky, I'm having a bad time trying to install it. I never actually had BT Internet but found the router in a skip, in it's box, complete with a spare wireless USB connector. When I install the BT router, it can never recognise the line signal,so I'm wondering if the inbound signal is different to other broadband signals?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Did you check the VCI was set to 38 and PPPoA?

    6. #5
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      If the router cannot detect a broadband signal, how can you get to the set up page? You can't get on the internet.

    7. #6
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Quote Originally Posted by dancingdog777 View Post
      If the router cannot detect a broadband signal, how can you get to the set up page? You can't get on the internet.
      If I interpret your question correctly, you may be confusing the router's IP address with an address on the internet.

      If you can connect to the router (though preferably by ethernet cable) start Internet Explorer and enter and address such as 192.168.0.1 in the IE address bar (it may be different with various brands of router, so download the user manual).

      You will be greeted by a login box where you usually enter User name as admin and Password as password (though, again it may be different with different brands of router).

      If I did misunderstand your question, still a good idea to get the manual if you can.
      Last edited by fihart; 25-03-07 at 10:25 AM.

    8. #7
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      I think the Sky router/telephone line going off scenario was a glitch.
      Today I have configured a 2wire.com usb wireless connector so I'm only connected to the router wirelessley. Strangely, the signal seems more stable and I have a better SNR too (below).

      Thanks for all your advise I'll try this for awhile first, at least I won't be breaking the contract terms with Sky!
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5536 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 23.0 db

    9. #8
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Due to continuing problems with the Sky router I thought I'd try the HG 1800 again. I followed fihart's advice but the Internet Explorer just says Can't connect to the Internet. It's a catch 22 situation. Can't connect to the internet (router can't dicipher signal) so can't get to the set up page. I'll see if I can d/l the manual from 2wire.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Here is a couple of addresses you could try for accessing the HG1800
      192.168.1.254
      192.168.1.101
      or
      http://gateway.2wire.net
      By default user and password are blank.

      You do not have to get on to the internet to set up the router. Although in the one case, the router and modem are actually separate functions.

    11. #10
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router malfunction?

      Thanks I'll try those.
      My Netgear is dropping the connection about every 10 minutes tonight!

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4032 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 25.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 22.0 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION