Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Router Freezing more frequently

    This is a discussion on Router Freezing more frequently within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; First of all may I thank the forum members for the work that you are doing. I have successfully used ...

    1. #1
      silbylaw's Avatar
      silbylaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Freezing more frequently

      First of all may I thank the forum members for the work that you are doing. I have successfully used many of the tips you have posted to date.
      However, I need a more in depth assessment of my current problem.

      The story so far:
      Went online with SkyBB Jan 16th this year.
      Oops.Router faulty.
      Called CS.
      After much toing and froing CS agreed to replace router.
      New router arrived Jan 23rd.
      Online! Rah, Rah.
      Oops.
      Wireless disconnections. Router freezing. Turned off UPnP. Online. Rah.
      Oops.
      Evening dropouts. Increased SNR margin. Thanks Mognut. Online. Rah.
      Oops. Random disconnections.
      Flashed router to Netgear firmware. UPnP now turned on!!! Rah.
      Online with no issues for days at a time. Sorted.
      Oops.
      Over the last 3 days my router freezes every so often and requires a manual reset by pulling the power lead. The ADSL light remains on.
      This occurs whether or not there is a wireless connection present.

      My setup.
      I am 1.5km from the exchange.
      Router is connected directly to the ADSL box, no extensions.
      3 ethernet connections via a hub in another room to the router. Ethernet connection from the router to a NAS device.
      One laptop connected wirelessly. (occasionally)

      My latest stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl:
      ADSL driver and PHY status

      Status: Showtime
      Channel: FAST,
      Upstream rate = 764 Kbps,
      Downstream rate = 13488 Kbps

      Link Power State: L0

      Mode: ADSL2+

      Channel: Fast

      Trellis: ON

      Line Status: No Defect

      Training Status: Showtime

      Down Up

      SNR (dB): 7.1 12.5

      Attn(dB): 36.5 20.7

      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4

      Max(Kbps): 13540 864

      Rate (Kbps): 13488 764

      G.dmt framing

      K: 241(0) 24

      R: 14 16

      S: 1 8

      D: 64 8

      ADSL2 framing

      MSGc: 107 68

      B: 240 23

      M: 1 8

      T: 1 1

      R: 14 16

      S: 0.5693 7.7037

      L: 3583 216

      D: 64 8

      Counters

      SF: 57310 57308

      SFErr: 2 1

      RS: 6476122 487118

      RSCorr: 5656 587202560

      RSUnCorr: 60 0



      HEC: 2 0

      OCD: 0 0

      LCD: 0 0

      Total Cells: 29352499 1646357

      Data Cells: 66087 13056

      Drop Cells: 0

      Bit Errors: 0 0



      ES: 2 1

      SES: 2 4

      UAS: 13 36

      Total time = 15 min 40 sec

      SF = 57310

      CRC = 2

      LOS = 2

      LOF = 0

      ES = 2

      Latest 1 day time = 15 min 40 sec

      SF = 57310

      CRC = 2

      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0

      ES = 2

      Latest 15 minutes time = 40 sec

      SF = 2486

      CRC = 0

      LOS = 0

      LOF = 0

      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec

      SF = 54824

      CRC = 2

      LOS = 2

      LOF = 0

      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec

      SF = 0

      CRC = 0

      LOS = 0

      LOF = 0

      ES = 0

      Could somebody please advise whether these stats show any problems and if so where do I go from here.

      Thanks.
      Last edited by silbylaw; 20-03-07 at 06:19 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      Have you done the wiring checks ie remove BT face plate and plug into the test socket?

    4. #3
      silbylaw's Avatar
      silbylaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      Thanks for the reply.

      Working on that now, will report shortly!

    5. #4
      silbylaw's Avatar
      silbylaw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      I have connected the router directly to the test socket but the fault remains.
      Just to clarify a point, when the problem occurs, the router won't even respond to a ping from the LAN.

    6. #5
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      Wrong thread
      Last edited by dancingdog777; 23-03-07 at 10:07 PM. Reason: Wrong thread

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      I may be out of order suggesting this, in this part of the forum, but you could try connecting your old router and see if that works. You will have to put your Sky user/password into it for it to connect. Instructions elsewhere in the forum.

      It just strikes me that the chance of two routers displaying the same fault are pretty small, it may be some other influence that is causing the problem. Did you have any problems with your previous supplier?

    8. #7
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      Wrong thread, sorry.
      Last edited by dancingdog777; 23-03-07 at 10:06 PM. Reason: Wrong thread

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      @ Dancingdog - I am sorry, my reply was aimed at the OP, you should really start a new thread as cross-posting can lead to a lot of confusion. If you post your line stats and details of your problem, I am sure you will get help. As it stands the only similarity seems to be possible router failure.

      @-Silbylaw - Have you tried a non-Sky router or modem? I am by no means an expert at reading stats, but I can see that yours are much better than mine and so far I have had no problems.
      Maybe someone with more knowledge than I could confirm that using Mognuts Utility you could change the mode from ADSL2+ to ADSL2 or even G.DMT. This may help stabilize your connection. Also switching from Fast to Interleave may also help, but I think this is an exchange fix.

    10. #9
      dancingdog777's Avatar
      dancingdog777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01425
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      Apologies Isitme. I thought I was responding to a different thread which I started and was having comms with Tdbsolutions. Genuine mistake. Sorry.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Freezing more frequently

      No apology necessary

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION