Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Turn off firewall

    This is a discussion on Turn off firewall within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. Is there a way of turning off the firewall in the Netgear router and letting Windows firewall do all ...

    1. #1
      District69's Avatar
      District69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tulse Hill
      Broadband ISP: 13mbs
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Turn off firewall

      Hi. Is there a way of turning off the firewall in the Netgear router and letting Windows firewall do all the work?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      Yes - just set up rules to allow all inbound and outbound connections.

      But why would you want to do that?

    4. #3
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      Windows firewall is not much use at all.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      The only time you want to turn off the router firewall is when you are testing your software firewall. If you don't, it is the router that is being tested, not the PC

    6. #5
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      Quote Originally Posted by district69 View Post
      Hi. Is there a way of turning off the firewall in the Netgear router and letting Windows firewall do all the work?

      Thanks
      You've seen Brainiacs where Richard Hammond introduces some experiment about blowing up microwave overs with "don't do this at home" and he then comes on again saying "no, don't! Really"? Well, that applies here.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    7. #6
      F1R3F7Y's Avatar
      F1R3F7Y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      or the router firewall is rubbish and you have a better one sitting next door to it. jeez

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Turn off firewall

      What makes you say the router firewall is rubbish and resuscitate a 30 month old post to say it ?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION