Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Routers a Bit messed up

    This is a discussion on Routers a Bit messed up within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My friend is with SKY and his router is like freezing all the time. He knows that its the routers ...

    1. #1
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Routers a Bit messed up

      My friend is with SKY and his router is like freezing all the time. He knows that its the routers problem as he has used my router and has been working without freezing so there is no problem with his line. He hasn't done anything to the router and its been freezing since the 3rd day from activation. He has called SKY up and all they say that they are doing a test on the line. Altogether there has been 5 tests on his line to see if its the lines fault. They just seem to NOT give a new router to him.

      Is there anyway of telling sky that he wants a new router that doesn't include tests on the line before sending.

      Also he is willing to lie. I know its bad, but do you want to pay for a service that at the end of the day all your doing is giving money, but not getting anything in return???
      Last edited by miahm2; 16-03-07 at 05:56 PM.
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kevlong's Avatar
      kevlong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      What do the Stats llok line between both of the routers. is there a marked difference in attenuation, noise margin, etc?

      Kevlong

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      You should check your stats I have been playing with differen't routers for months, some cope better than others, after checking my detailed stats on advice from this forum, turns out all my problems were down to high errors on my line, made some changes to my telephone wiring now all ok.
      If you really do want a new router just tell them it has suddening gone dead no power no lights nothing! that should get them moving. They rarely ask for the old one back so you shouldn't get caught out.

    5. #4
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      Well I got my stats from his router. This is how it looks like. Open the attached file and see for yourself
      (its in Black & White as it will go over the size limit if its in colour)
      Attached Images Attached Images
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    6. #5
      kevlong's Avatar
      kevlong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      The summary you provided looks OK, but how do they compare with the stats of the other router on the same line?

      Also take a look on this forum about getting the full stats and post those as well.

      Kevlong

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      Also worth getting your detailed stats using this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 and run "Get detailed stats. That will give some detail on the errors.

    8. #7
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.4 12.5
      Attn(dB): 26.0 15.5
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17556 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 935155 935153
      SFErr: 23505 40
      RS: 121570244 7948800
      RSCorr: 335642 118
      RSUnCorr: 846307 0

      HEC: 23568 284
      OCD: 5189 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 544614264 27261387
      Data Cells: 14467410 3469929
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 424 11
      SES: 386 0
      UAS: 14 3251
      Total time = 4 hours 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 935155
      CRC = 23505
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 424
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 935155
      CRC = 23505
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 424
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 36 sec
      SF = 46758
      CRC = 22
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 48
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 39
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      I hoped this helped you
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    9. #8
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      Quote Originally Posted by miahm2 View Post

      Also he is willing to lie. I know its bad,
      Yes it's bad, very very bad - but gets the best results.

      Ring broadband support. Tell them no internet. When they ask what lights on router, answer is NONE!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      Saturday is your man for deciffering these stats, but somehwere along the line the router has logged over 23000 crc errors which I think is bad! I had a similar problem and it was cured by disconnecting the ring wire on my telephone extensions so now only 2 wires connected, everything still works ok and now very low errors.

    11. #10
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Routers a Bit messed up

      So what exactly is the ring wire and how should he remove it. Just explain to me what wires he should disconnect. Try to include pictures.

      By the way he only has one socket which is the main, he doesn't have any other extension socket
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION