Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Fast or Interleave?

    This is a discussion on Fast or Interleave? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Could someone tell me if I am on Fast or Interleave? It looks like I am on fast. I ...

    1. #1
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fast or Interleave?

      Hi,

      Could someone tell me if I am on Fast or Interleave?

      It looks like I am on fast. I am not sure but I thought Sky connects Max users on Interleave?

      Thanks

      Here is some stats:

      # cat /tmp/adsl-stats
      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.3 12.5
      Attn(dB): 24.0 13.3
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 19084 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2286190 2286188
      SFErr: 171581 19
      RS: 297204812 19432598
      RSCorr: 839764 169
      RSUnCorr: 333760 0

      HEC: 169407 41
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1336647374 66500548
      Data Cells: 19563599 5749618
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3681 9
      SES: 2868 0
      UAS: 183 271
      Total time = 1 days 3 hours 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 5996363
      CRC = 171752
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3681
      Latest 1 day time = 3 hours 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 677834
      CRC = 167601
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3487
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 51 sec
      SF = 10562
      CRC = 6398
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 107
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 17071
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 354
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5318529
      CRC = 4151
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 194
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 28806
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 526
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 17701
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 327
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 12367
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 221
      Last edited by Lupa; 16-03-07 at 01:20 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      You are on Fast - so am I, so are many people.

      If you ask Sky then they will say Interleave is the default but it seems random whether that's what you get. I suspect it's either hardware related (I believe they use two different manufacturers for their exchange equipment) or there are inconsistencies in the profile set up procedures.

      BTW that's a nasty, noisy line you have there - you should try and sort it out. Ironically, Interleave would probably be better for you.

    4. #3
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      You are on Fast - so am I, so are many people.

      If you ask Sky then they will say Interleave is the default but it seems random whether that's what you get. I suspect it's either hardware related (I believe they use two different manufacturers for their exchange equipment) or there are inconsistencies in the profile set up procedures.

      BTW that's a nasty, noisy line you have there - you should try and sort it out. Ironically, Interleave would probably be better for you.
      Thanks for the information, I sometimes get around 13.8db SNR is that better or worse? Ill have a look about to see if i can make it better

    5. #4
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Higher is better. Have a look at the links on the bottom of Saturday's previous post for an explanation.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #5
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Quote Originally Posted by Lazarus View Post
      Higher is better. Have a look at the links on the bottom of Saturday's previous post for an explanation.
      I have read the links in Saturday's sig It tells me what is SNR and how to reboot the router to get a higher SNR but I keep getting the same SNR. Is there any other way and around what SNR should I be getting?

      Thanks

      Lupa
      Last edited by Lupa; 16-03-07 at 02:46 PM.

    7. #6
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Quote Originally Posted by Lupa View Post
      I keep getting the same SNR. Is there any other way and around what SNR should I be getting?

      Thanks

      Lupa
      Your SNR could be affected by the lines in your house, whether you use an extension, interference from other equipment etc. or could be down to BT's line and its age, materials, links, damp etc, etc. I would suggest you read this first:

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats

      plug in to the TEST socket, leave the router connected for an hour or so and post another set of stats with all the relevant information included. This would give Saturday a chance to compare the two and suggest what you could next.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      @lupa

      Attenuation, connection speed, error levels and noise margin are all linked - only attenuation is static.

      Your attenuation is very low (good) which means that your noise margin will tend to be high (good). The higher the noise margin the lower the errors seen on a line i.e. if you count the errors at one noise margin then increase it, the error level will go down. Lower the noise margin and errors will go up.

      You have a high noise margin and high errors (very bad). The answer isn't to raise the margin even higher but to identify what is generating the noise (bound to be dodgy wiring/extension) and fix it.

    9. #8
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Hi,

      I can get my SNR upto 15.3db using:

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

      and changing SNR to 20db but I get a lower sync rate it drops to around 12000kbps?
      I will check my test socket later when I get time.
      Thanks you have all been very helpful top class support
      Ill get back to let you know if it has inproved and get less errors

      Lupa

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      Quote Originally Posted by Lupa View Post
      I have read the links in Saturday's sig
      Read but sadly not understood.

      Yes, putting up your noise margin lowers your connection speed.

      No, putting up your noise margin is not the way to reduce the errors you have (as I've already pointed out a couple of posts back).

      Yes, comparing the connection with the test socket will give an indication of how much of the noise is "local".

    11. #10
      Lupa's Avatar
      Lupa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fast or Interleave?

      This is what I get with my router plugged straight into the master socket(not test socket) with out anything other connected.

      I normally go through a extension cable into the other room to the router so it must be either that or the six other phone connections that go into the filter aswell.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.3 13.5
      Attn(dB): 23.5 13.1
      Pwr(dBm): 0.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18732 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 296729 296727
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 38574822 2522179
      RSCorr: 586 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 173603430 8643609
      Data Cells: 1751782 610928
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 435
      Total time = 1 hours 20 min 23 sec
      SF = 296729
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 20 min 23 sec
      SF = 296729
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 5 min 23 sec
      SF = 19951
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION