Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky Router

    This is a discussion on Sky Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Is my router died? For some reason I can log on to the internet using an Ethernet cable, but I ...

    1. #1
      hipaul500's Avatar
      hipaul500 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanrumney
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Router

      Is my router died? For some reason I can log on to the internet using an Ethernet cable, but I can't log my laptop on via it built in wireless connection.

      I have been able to do this and the connection has been good for about 3 weeks but all of a sudden it won't log on, it see the Sky router but won't log on. I am now using my old BT router and log on no probs at all. Anyone got any ideas?

      Also if the router is dead on wireless how do I go about getting a new one?

      Regrads.

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router

      Check that the wireless adapter in your computer is working by using what is usually called the site survey screen. This will identify any local wireless access points -- hopefully including your Sky router.

      If you want to be really sure, download a program called NetStumbler which is good at sniffing out neighbouring networks and shows if noise is affecting yours.

      Particularly if you spot a new network, note whether the channel is adjacent to your own -- in which case it may be producing interference and you need to change channel in the router and in your adapter to be three or more channels away.

      While in the router, turn off UPnP (it causes problems).

      Other sources of interference -- microwave oven, video sender, cordless or mobile phone.

    4. #3
      nmirzayantz's Avatar
      nmirzayantz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chertsey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router

      Yeah i have the same problem.
      The thing is that i found a program on these forums that ping the router and would reset the router untill i got connection. This solved my problem everytime and it was stable for ages. And when it did fail it took this program about 20sec to fix it, but my laptop has just crashed and i had to re-format my laptop so i have lost everything including this software. I have been searching for this software for the last 3 days, but i cannot findit yet,
      so if anyone knows this software then i would help the two of us and anyone else who has this problem, as it killing me.....
      The search continues..........

    5. #4
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router

      Is it Mossywell's Bounce Sky Router that you were looking for?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...matically.html
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #5
      nmirzayantz's Avatar
      nmirzayantz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chertsey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router

      cheers matey, your a life aver.....to everyone out there having the same problems as me, this is the best tool.....Well done Mosseywells

    7. #6
      PeteC's Avatar
      PeteC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: cable
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Sheffield
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router

      this router is poor quality mine keeps losing the IP address after a few hours of just sitting there

      its going in the bin and ill use my old one - do away with this wireless crap and just use LAN
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 11-04-07 at 08:08 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION