Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    DDNS not updating

    This is a discussion on DDNS not updating within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've turned off UPnP, set up a static IP on my server and opened ports 80 & 21. I get ...

    1. #1
      elyobelyob's Avatar
      elyobelyob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DDNS not updating

      I've turned off UPnP, set up a static IP on my server and opened ports 80 & 21.

      I get the following message and dyndns doesn't work. "<DDNS>HTTP cannot connected". I thought I had it working fine with UPnP off, as I switched it off before I was connected to Sky.

      I turned UPnP back on and it managed to update once out of 5 attempts.

      I think I've done everything to set the port forwarding up etc, but am stuck and Google didn't have much to go on.

      Any thoughts?

      Thanks

      p.s. I'll leave it as it is all night and see if there's a problem with dyndns or Sky.

      update : left for eight hours. No update to DDNS.

      update 2 : switched UPnP back on, still get the same message. "<DDNS>HTTP cannot connected". I've switched it off again.
      Last edited by elyobelyob; 13-03-07 at 12:14 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      I too have noticed this today, perhaps it's something DynDNS have done (maybe it was 'abusing'). I found a page with some useful info on the dyndns updater, I might have a hack around with it when I get home from work. My status page however, just displays a blank page (I occaisionaly get the same error as you though).

      http://www.darryl.cain.com.au/dg834gt.html

    4. #3
      tsotsi's Avatar
      tsotsi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WGC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      Same here, tried yesterday and this morning, my vpn and remote desktop from work to my home server not making a connection at all.

    5. #4
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      Quote Originally Posted by tsotsi View Post
      Same here, tried yesterday and this morning, my vpn and remote desktop from work to my home server not making a connection at all.
      ME too, thankfully I had a wife at home on MSN who could go to IP Chicken - What is my IP? Find Your IP Address! and let me know 'where I was'

      edit: oops, didn't know about that url re-naming functionality!

    6. #5
      elyobelyob's Avatar
      elyobelyob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      I tried to telnet into my box and it asked for a username and password .. erm .. no idea. Tried the obvious, but nope.

      I'm running an unslung NSLU2, so could get my own cron job going. I was just hoping that this would be a convenient and reliable alternative. The script that I would use checks whether the IP address has changed before submitting, without this check I would imagine DynDNS would get a little annoyed with every netgear router checking in regularly.

      One of the issues I have is that I am changing IP address on a far too regular basis. Okay, I've been playing with the router and I intend to leaving it untouched soon enough, but can't the IP leases be a little longer. When I was on Telewest a few years ago, I had the same IP address for months. No, it wasn't static, just a nice long lease.
      Last edited by elyobelyob; 13-03-07 at 05:48 PM. Reason: Took out script, wrong one, that was for my own domain on enom

    7. #6
      spadge007's Avatar
      spadge007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      I too noticed this yesterday and it hadn't updated since Feb.

      I simply unticked the option to use DDNS then logged out of the router. I then logged back on and re-enabled it.

      I checked the password etc was correct and it then updated DynDNS ok. I checked DynDNS this morning and my router successfully updated the new IP address it received this morning.

      Hope this helps!!!!

    8. #7
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      Quote Originally Posted by spadge007 View Post
      I too noticed this yesterday and it hadn't updated since Feb.

      I simply unticked the option to use DDNS then logged out of the router. I then logged back on and re-enabled it.

      I checked the password etc was correct and it then updated DynDNS ok. I checked DynDNS this morning and my router successfully updated the new IP address it received this morning.

      Hope this helps!!!!
      Yeah, been through all that, no difference. I think a proper 'power cycle' may be required (cron job or cron itself crapped out?)

    9. #8
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      Curious. After reading the thread, I checked mine and it also has been unable to update for 2 days. However, the DynDNS record itself shows that it is updating fine. Looks like the "<DDNS>HTTP cannot connected" might be a red herring. So, check the DNS record directly to see if it is updating.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    10. #9
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      Well, it wasn't updating for me yesterday, regardless of the status message. However, turning the router on this morning the update and status message is working fine . So can't really tell if it was the rotuer needing a 'proper' reboot or something at DynDns. Oh well, it works now, thats the main thing.

    11. #10
      elyobelyob's Avatar
      elyobelyob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DDNS not updating

      My message this morning ... <DDNS>IP address is the same, and does not need to be updated!

      I'm guessing that it was a DynDns change ...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION