Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    firmware

    This is a discussion on firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hey guys bit of a nooblet here! Basically in my migration from pipex to sky i had about 3 months ...

    1. #1
      VanGTO's Avatar
      VanGTO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      firmware

      hey guys bit of a nooblet here!

      Basically in my migration from pipex to sky i had about 3 months of problems from sky pipex and bt all were fools tbh messing me around all the while i had no connectivity since mid december.

      anyways my old modam broke half way through my 30 days migration window so what i did was reset my sky router and installed the original netgear firmware so that i could ammend the username and pass to get onto my pipex account.

      Well that then halted and i have finally got sky to get me up and running but then................my goddamn os got shafted and i had to buy a new xp pro and reinstall it and now you guessed it i cant locate teh old sky firmware and my router is stuck on the pipex username and pass. for some reason i cannot access the web interface through ie?

      Any suggestions would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: firmware

      afaik the original firmware is on the Sky CD that come with the router




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: firmware

      Will pressing the reset work? Or does that put it right back to factory set?

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Will pressing the reset work? Or does that put it right back to factory set?
      No that wont help with the firmware but it is on the cd that came with the router.

      Is the user name and password on the cd as well??

    6. #5
      VanGTO's Avatar
      VanGTO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: firmware

      are you talking about browsing the files on the disc or reinstalling?

      Cause if you are talking about installing it doesnt work cause when you are at the stage where you are"checking connection" it always hits you with the "hmmm not quite ready to go online" gash and i figure that its due to the modem still being set to the pipex user and pass

      I will try browsing the disk and see if the old sky firmware is accessable to get my sky user and pass and then il take my router to my mates and hook it up and try the ie interface to see if i can change it but if that doesnt work i dont know what to do other than buy a new router but if anyone has any other suggestions then i would be happy to hear them ?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: firmware

      Maybe firmware is the wrong term. Firmware upgrades the hardware of the router and has nothing to do with username/passwords, the software which controls the connection, is a different thing entirely. Pressing the reset should return the software of the router to it's original setting. What I don't really know is if Sky have included the username/passsword in the 'factory' settings. I would guess that they have and if the OP has lost the username/password, this would be the only chance of recovering it. Someone must have pressed the reset in the past, so should know the result. I am not even sure if all Sky's un/pws are the same or individually tailored to the user.

    8. #7
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: firmware

      Browse the cd and go to the utilites folder, in there should be dg834 gt recovery, take the power cable out of ur router, then on the back of ur router u have a little reset button, hold this down and insert the power cable back in and the leds on the front should be flashing (the orange tick and the power light), ur router is now in recovery mode, launch recovery exe in the folder and away you go..
      Last edited by Jas; 12-03-07 at 08:07 PM.

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: firmware

      I am not even sure if all Sky's un/pws are the same or individually tailored to the user.
      No they are differen't I have 2 Sky routers here and they both have differen't user name and passwords, but both work if I plug them into my line!

    10. #9
      VanGTO's Avatar
      VanGTO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: firmware

      hey guys got it sorted its all ok now thanks for all your help it was much appreciated

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: firmware

      It's always nice to know how a problem was fixed.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION