Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Supply only of a Sky Q box

    This is a discussion on Supply only of a Sky Q box within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Quick question that I wondered if someone could answer for me please. I currently have Sky+ HD. I have a ...

    1. #1
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Supply only of a Sky Q box

      Quick question that I wondered if someone could answer for me please.


      I currently have Sky+ HD. I have a friend who is a satellite installer, who put me a higher quality galvanised steel satellite dish up.

      Now, I realise my current LNB would need changed, but I really don't want Sky to come out and do any work or put up one of their cheap metal dishes which rust like hell in no time in my area .

      I was wanting to get a Sky Q box, and wondered if anyone knows if Sky will just send out the box, for the owner to then arrange the fitting and setup of it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,354
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 366 Times in 357 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      Is your friend an Approved Sky Agent (ASA)?
      If so he is probably in the best position to obtain a Sky Q box for you though there are rules that he must follow to keep the ASA status.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Tal71 (10-10-18)

    5. #3
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      Not quite sure, but his quality and tidiness of work is a lot better than some of Sky's own installers work I've seen.

      Basically I thought I might be able to sign up with Sky, for their Sky Q service and from there, just get them to post the box out to me, to arrange my own installation.

    6. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,354
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 366 Times in 357 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      Sky do not supply their Sky Q set top boxes directly to end users. If you don't want to use Sky's own installers you are free to use an independent installer but it must be one approved by Sky for them to legitimately obtain Sky Q TV equipment.

    7. #5
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,011
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 186 Times in 177 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      I'm afraid that there is no self install for Sky Q.
      Also, only Sky can install a Sky Q system.

      If your dish is compatible with the Sky Q offered LNB, your sky installer would know that or provide more details on your Sky Q dish, then maybe the Sky installer may install it.
      Be aware at the point of ordering Sky Q, you would have to declare that and you may be charged for extra work above the normal install.
      If the dish is a non compatible Sky Q offered LNB, then some third parties offer Sky Q alternative fittings, which you would have to get installed from your third party sky installer before or after the Sky Installer has done their work.

      Do remember that with Sky Q, as long as you have Sky Q you have free callouts form a Sky engineer. All Sky Q kit excluding the dish and lnb is owned by Sky now and only rented to yourself. It has to
      be returned after leaving Sky Q.
      Last edited by lettice; 10-10-18 at 04:16 PM.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to lettice For This Useful Post:

      Tal71 (10-10-18)

    9. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,354
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 366 Times in 357 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      There are still independent (Sky approved) installers advertising that they can install Sky Q.
      To take a quote from ddaerials.com website:
      Digital Direct’s expert Sky Q engineers will take the time to ensure your Sky Q box is set up with your new or upgraded dish, link any Mini boxes without interference from other hubs or neighbouring systems. Our office Sky specialist can also get you the best, most cost effective, combination of Sky products and Bundles.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Tal71 (10-10-18)

    11. #7
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Supply only of a Sky Q box

      Thanks guys for all the help, appreciate it.
      I suspected it wouldn't be as simple as I had envisaged, with regards to obtaining a box.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION