Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    No scrolling remote control supplied

    This is a discussion on No scrolling remote control supplied within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi My mum in law had sky q today but the engineer only left her with the basic remote control ...

    1. #1
      Flotmangooner's Avatar
      Flotmangooner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No scrolling remote control supplied

      Hi
      My mum in law had sky q today but the engineer only left her with the basic remote control and not the one with the pad and voice search button on the side. She asked him and he said Sky have stopped doing them. Surely this canít be correct ? Can anyone advise please before I contact sky. Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lincoln's Avatar
      lincoln is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mosborough,sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: No scrolling remote control supplied

      Quote Originally Posted by Flotmangooner View Post
      Hi
      My mum in law had sky q today but the engineer only left her with the basic remote control and not the one with the pad and voice search button on the side. She asked him and he said Sky have stopped doing them. Surely this canít be correct ? Can anyone advise please before I contact sky. Thanks

      i had a 2tb box installed 3 weeks ago and got both remotes

    4. #3
      Seaman's Avatar
      Seaman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Snodland NDSNO
      Broadband ISP: BT Fibre Unlimited
      Router: BT Smart Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Location
      Snodland, Kent
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No scrolling remote control supplied

      This thread may have answered my suspicions. I had a 2TB box installed about 6 weeks ago and only have the touch pad type remote. The cardboard box the Sky Q box came in was in a very tatty condition. I have the impression that Sky are installing used or repaired boxes. I know they own the box, I would have thought you would get everything with it. There wasn't even an instruction manual.

    5. #4
      wizard200's Avatar
      wizard200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gatwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max + Sky Talk
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110UK + SkyQ Booster EE120
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb + mini
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      west sussex
      Posts
      263
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: No scrolling remote control supplied

      Hello All
      At this present time, I am still debating about SkyQ merits considering the cost although
      I have purchased a 4K Panasonic tv & a friends Q4k is really good but if they tried to install
      a secondhand unit I would show them the door very quickly indeed......!!!!!........

      and cancel the install without a second thought.

      Just a Thought ...........Time for a Beer
      Last edited by wizard200; 16-06-18 at 05:28 PM. Reason: X Eyed

    6. #5
      Flotmangooner's Avatar
      Flotmangooner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No scrolling remote control supplied

      Spoke to the Sky guys selling Sky Q in our local shopping mall this morning. Basically, if you subscribe to the 2tb box you should get the scrolling remote and the standard remote. However if you have the 1tb box which my outlaw does then Sky have stopped supplying the scrolling remote and you only get the standard remote without the voice search button. Very disappointing considering Sky have been bigging up the Voice search feature

    7. #6
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: No scrolling remote control supplied

      Standard Q 1TB = Standard button remote
      Q silver 2 TB = Touch/button remote with voice. The new handsets can be used as a button remote or changed to touch and you now only get one remote with a 2TB Q silver.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION