Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 31
    Like Tree2Likes

    Q hdr

    This is a discussion on Q hdr within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Any updates on HDR - it is 2019 already?...

    1. #21
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q 2Tb
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      Any updates on HDR - it is 2019 already?
      Sky Q 2TB, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Fibre Max
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Musical Fidelity M3i, Denon AVR-X3300W, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Yamaha YSP-1600, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q 2Tb
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      Quote Originally Posted by amj.62 View Post
      Will HDR require a hardware upgrade for the Sky Q box?
      One possible issue could be that the Sky Q boxes are HDMI 1.4. As far as I can tell from reading up on the topic, HDMI 2.0b is needed for HDR if they use HLG. Also 1.4 only does 4K @ 24 or 30 fps, 2.0 is needed for 50 or 60 fps. AFAIK even the Q v2 is 1.4.
      Sky Q 2TB, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Fibre Max
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Musical Fidelity M3i, Denon AVR-X3300W, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Yamaha YSP-1600, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    4. #23
      Witchypoo's Avatar
      Witchypoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Q
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      Sky state o watch in Ultra HD, you’ll need:
      A Sky Q 2TB box with the Sky Q Multiscreen subscription. To watch sports, movies or Box Sets in Ultra HD you’ll need the Sky Sports, Sky Cinema or Sky Box Sets subscriptions.
      The HDMI 2.0 cable provided by the engineer during your Sky Q installation. It has a pink connector featuring the Sky logo on both sides and ‘High Speed HDMI’ printed on the black cable.
      An Ultra HD TV that can display a picture resolution of 3840x2160 pixels at 50 frames per second and has an input that supports HDCP 2.2. For the most popular TV brands, these inputs should work:
      LG: Input 1, marked HDCP 2.2.
      Panasonic: Inputs 1, 3 or the input marked 4k.
      Samsung: The input marked MHL.
      Sony: Check what TV models and inputs are available on their website.this on their web site:
      I have the Sky cable with the pink connector and have it connected to a LG OLED C6V and it can be very temperamental with drop outs daily. The only option I have is to remove the cable and re-insert it and most times this works. I have spoken to LG and Sky and they blame each other! Sky themselves sent out a replacement cable but it has not helped much. If anyone has a better cable option, please let me know.

    5. #24
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q 2Tb
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      It may be a High-speed cable but box chipset is 1.4 according to: https://skyepginfo.co.uk/Firmware/SkyQ.php

      Q hdr-q2tbv1.jpg
      Last edited by Russ64; 09-03-19 at 02:42 PM. Reason: Added screenshot
      Sky Q 2TB, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Fibre Max
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Musical Fidelity M3i, Denon AVR-X3300W, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Yamaha YSP-1600, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    6. #25
      Witchypoo's Avatar
      Witchypoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01282
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Q
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      Maybe they will issue a new box to cover the HDR requirement. Hopefully that may solve my issue between the box and the TV!

    7. #26
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q 2Tb
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      What makes this interesting is that some articles suggest that Sky Sports UHD is @ 50 fps. So something doesn't add up!

      Is there anyone with a source at Sky who can determine if the box is 1.4 or 2.0?
      Sky Q 2TB, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Fibre Max
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Musical Fidelity M3i, Denon AVR-X3300W, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Yamaha YSP-1600, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    8. #27
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,451
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 377 Times in 367 Posts

      Re: Q hdr

      A workaround would be to use interlacing so that a maximum of half the pixels required to create a full frame are transferred between the Sky box and the TV every 20 m/S. This would though make the standard I and not P.

    9. #28
      Russ64's Avatar
      Russ64 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pimlico
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q 2Tb
      Join Date
      Apr 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Q hdr

      Disappointing that HDR is not included in the new Q090 update that is rolling out........
      Sky Q 2TB, 2x Mini's, Sky Q Hub (ER110 & EE120), Sky Fibre Max
      Panasonic TX-65GZ950, Musical Fidelity M3i, Denon AVR-X3300W, Oppo 203, Dali Oberon 5.1.2, BK P12-300SB-PR
      Sony 32W705,
      Yamaha YSP-1600, Asustor AS5002T 4TB NAS, Apple TV 4K

    10. #29
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 34 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Q hdr

      Quote Originally Posted by Russ64 View Post
      What makes this interesting is that some articles suggest that Sky Sports UHD is @ 50 fps. So something doesn't add up!

      Is there anyone with a source at Sky who can determine if the box is 1.4 or 2.0?
      The 2TB Q box outputs UHD at 2160p50 so has to have HDMI 2.0 because HDMI 1.4 only supports UHD at 24/25/30Hz and only 8-bit. My AVR also confirms that the Q box is outputting 2160p50.

    11. #30
      doggett25's Avatar
      doggett25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2019
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Q hdr

      Doing a bit of digging with the help of this site - https://gladdy.uk/blog/2017/03/13/sk...pi-interfaces/

      I've got the Q090 firmware and some interesting things were extracted out of the command I ran.
      Line 5 seems to hint that the box knows my TV can do HLG, so maybe HDR ability was added in that firmware?

      "hdmi" : {
      "2160p10bitCapable" : true,
      "authenticatedHDCP" : "2.2",
      "sinkHDCP" : "2.2",
      "sinkHLG" : true,
      "sinkUHD" : true,
      "state" : "available",
      "uhdConfigured" : true

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION