Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

    This is a discussion on Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; As Sky currently don't do an App for Windows I have tried running the Android App for Sky Q using ...

    1. #1
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      As Sky currently don't do an App for Windows I have tried running the Android App for Sky Q using an Android Emulator.

      Remix OS Player installed the Sky Q App from Google Play but it wouldn't get past the Sky Q logo.

      I tried running it with KoPlayer. The app started up OK but couldn't connect to my Sky Q box.

      Has anyone had any success in getting it to run with any Android Emulator for PC?

      If so which emulator?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OpnSense
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,739
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 128 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Unlikely it will work. If it's like the older sky apps, Sky Devs stopped them running on rooted devices, and they also did not run on certain firmware versions.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,959
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 184 Times in 175 Posts

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      An Android emulator probably in most cases will not work.
      As mentioned above, they will be seen as rooted devices.
      Sky will also limit the distribution of their apps to use development filtering to restrict to types of screen formats s like only tablets or specific large devices or even up to certain true screen sizes.

    5. #4
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,290
      Thanks
      355
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      I've had some success in the past using BlueStacks to test run Android apps on a Mac (there's also a Windows PC version), but no idea how good it is nowadays nor whether the Sky Q app would work within it.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    6. #5
      ToeKnee's Avatar
      ToeKnee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Andover
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Thanks guys.

      I might give BlueStacks a go.

    7. #6
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,959
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 184 Times in 175 Posts

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Quote Originally Posted by ToeKnee View Post
      Thanks guys.

      I might give BlueStacks a go.
      Don't bother it will not work.

    8. #7
      Quark999's Avatar
      Quark999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      I've had it work on two different emulators - can't remember the second one but "Andy" worked - you need to switch the network interface to bridged mode so that the Udp packages and whatnot arrive.

      However, even on a powerful machine the video performance was just not good enough in the emulator so everything stuttered, even at low resolutions. So while an interesting science project it was completely unusable in real life. I'd love to find an emulator that has better video performance (hardware accelerator?) AND offers bridged networking. I know Bluestacks doesn't, which is why it doesn't work at all.

      Or better still, Sky could release a damn Windows 10 app... They could reuse it on the XBox One even, but they seem to have suddenly lost interest in everything but iOS and Android...

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Quark999 For This Useful Post:

      cntoms (30-03-18)

    10. #8
      cntoms's Avatar
      cntoms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01726
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity Option 2
      Router: BT Hub 6A
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2018
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Have successfully got Sky Q app to run using Nox - you need to set bridged network mode in the settings. Currently runs in portrait mode like on a phone - trying to find a way of making it run in landscape mode like on a tablet but so far not been able to. But hey it works so this is a step forward. Nox can be downloaded from https://www.bignox.com/ Note that I have not tested video performance but then I don't really want it for that I just want to be able to browse the TV Guide and manage recordings, etc which it seems to allow me to do.

      I did try:
      Bluestacks - failed as you can't seem to set up a bridged network.
      Memu - failed could set up bridge network but uses different subnet and couldn't work out how to change it.
      AndY - failed could set up bridged network but same issue as with Memu.

    11. #9
      Quark999's Avatar
      Quark999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Was Nox on Windows 10? Last time I tried it they used an old version of Virtualbox where the virtual network driver only supported bridging on Windows 7. The option just didnít appear at all in Windows 10.

      Maybe they upgraded it by now?

      Biggest problem I had with all of the emulators was full screen video performance. I tried the Amazon Prime app on most of them before even getting to Sky Q but none were smooth. Did that work for you better in Nox?

    12. #10
      cntoms's Avatar
      cntoms is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01726
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity Option 2
      Router: BT Hub 6A
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2018
      Location
      Cornwall
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Running Sky Q App on PC with Android Emulator

      Yes this was Windows 10. Have it running on my HP laptop and also my Samsung Galaxy Book. Video performance seems okay in the short tests I've carried out.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to cntoms For This Useful Post:

      Quark999 (31-03-18)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION