Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32

    Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

    This is a discussion on Slingplayer with Sky Q installation within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Creating a thread for Slingplayer with Sky Q installation, as a number have asked on here. For Slingplayer to work ...

    1. #1
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,014
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 187 Times in 178 Posts

      Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Creating a thread for Slingplayer with Sky Q installation, as a number have asked on here.

      Slingplayer with Sky Q installation-slingplayer-sky-q.jpg

      For Slingplayer to work with Sky Q and get all the remote control functions you need to add a custom remote file.
      Although it uses the basic slingplayer remote skin, it operates everything on your Sky Q box.
      As before, use the Slingbox IR Emitter/Infrared Blaster Cable and place one of the eyes in front of the sky q box or mini.

      INSTALLATION
      ============
      Please follow the instructions at:
      How to Install a Custom Remote onto the Slingbox – Place Shifting Enthusiasts

      BUTTON MAPPING
      ==============
      Home is mapped to the Menu button
      Sidebar (3 dots) is mapped to the Guide Button.
      Help is mapped to the Enter button (right of zero) so it is in the same location as the original.
      Dismiss is mapped to the Exit button
      Sky is mapped to the White button
      Search is mapped to the Page+ button.

      Taken from the custom remote ile readme.
      The original thread in the sky community forum from the creator of this custom remote file and the custom remote file download;
      https://community.sling.com/message/147994#147994

      You can use the a/v port out of the mini using the sky q supplied a/v cable, Nokia CA-75U cable or similar.
      For the Sky Q box you will need to sue an hdmi splitter to connect to your slingplayer. You can also use this method on the Sky Q mini.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to lettice For This Useful Post:

      The Realist (21-11-16)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Top man thanks.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    5. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,801
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      You've got me interested now, just looked at a used Slingbox Pro-HD for 39, might be tempted.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #4
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Reason I'm after this is when I'm on holidays I can watch my Plex media system and via Slingbox watch my Sky as well.

      Why I didn't think of this years ago.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,801
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Maybe use a capture card and stream it from your server, don't know whether plex allows that, XBMC does or did.

      Another thought though is the HDCP, might need to add a stripper in the chain.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #6
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      My Plex is run from its own server so I have no need to add that to Slingbox I just need it for SkyQ and that's it.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    9. #7
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,014
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 187 Times in 178 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      For those that want to use a hdmi splitter on with their Sky Q box or mini for use with Slingplayer, this one is known to work;
      https://www.amazon.co.uk/product-rev...t&pageNumber=2

    10. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,801
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      No, I meant using Plex to stream the SkyQ, as I said, I don't know if Plex can do that, XBMC, on which Plex was based can.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #9
      jaydee1978's Avatar
      jaydee1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Q + mini
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Hoping on an old thread to see if anyone can help.

      I've got Sky Q and a mini box with an M1 slingbox.

      I am using the Now TV cable and the AV out on the sky Q mini box.

      I've got sound but only a black&white picture.

      I feel like I've tried all combinations of Red, Yellow, White into the Green, Blue, Yellow slots on the M1 box and still can't fix the problem.

      I've also tried a 'normal' component cable from maplin rather than sky but get no video signal at all with that cable.

      Going on holiday on Monday, HELP!

      Thanks

    12. #10
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,014
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 187 Times in 178 Posts

      Re: Slingplayer with Sky Q installation

      Quote Originally Posted by jaydee1978 View Post
      Hoping on an old thread to see if anyone can help.

      I've got Sky Q and a mini box with an M1 slingbox.

      I am using the Now TV cable and the AV out on the sky Q mini box.

      I've got sound but only a black&white picture.

      I feel like I've tried all combinations of Red, Yellow, White into the Green, Blue, Yellow slots on the M1 box and still can't fix the problem.

      I've also tried a 'normal' component cable from maplin rather than sky but get no video signal at all with that cable.

      Going on holiday on Monday, HELP!

      Thanks
      The now tv cable works fine. That is what is supplied by an engineer on a Sky Q install. Each one of my minis had this cable inside the box.
      I use a Nokia CA-75U cable with mine.
      You need to plug the cable into the In section that has Video yellow and L-audio-R red and white sockets on the slingbox.

      Sounds like you are trying to plug into the component area if you are mentioning green/blue/red. That will not work.
      A component cable will not work or a standard composite one. You can only use the Now tv one or the nokia one as Ive described above.
      Last edited by lettice; 11-02-17 at 10:25 AM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION