Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?

    This is a discussion on How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ? within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; I have just upgraded from Sky+HD to SkyQ 1Tb with two Minis. I have always used the RF2 output of ...

    1. #1
      steveharvey2001's Avatar
      steveharvey2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?

      I have just upgraded from Sky+HD to SkyQ 1Tb with two Minis.

      I have always used the RF2 output of the Sky+HD to split the incoming terrestrial signal and to feed a loft distribution amplifier which feeds TVs in multiple rooms.

      Since the SkyQ install was done yesterday I now have no terrestrial signal and no Sky signal on my other TVs - except the two which have miniboxes installed.

      I would like to recover this feature - especially to have the living-room main Sky channel output available in the adjacent kitchen so that the same channel can be watched simultaneously, preferably with audio in synch.

      The function of the original sky boxes use to provide:

      Active Splitting of the Incoming Terrestrial signal into RF1 and RF2
      DC Power to the loft amplifier
      RF Modulation of the SKY main box output (analog).

      I have read some postings on here which would imply that the recover the lost functionality, I will need to split the HDMI output into two with an active splitter and then use an expensive modulator like the satlink-modulator-dvb-t-ws-6990
      to digitally modulate the Sky output onto the RF feed to the loft amplifier.

      I believe it is possible to use the old Sky+ box, in standby mode, to provide the terrestrial RF split and DC power feed functions so I just need some way to split and modulate the HDMI signal.

      Most folks seem to suggest using the expensive digital modulator but I would expect that this would introduce a significant and irritating audio delay that would not be acceptable for adjacent rooms. Is there a way I can take the HDMI from the splitter and modulate it as an analog output as I don't need HD ?

      Thanks in advance

      Steve
      -------------------------------------------------------------
      "How can one little insulated wire bring so much happiness?!"
      Homer J Simpson


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?

      You'll need an HDMI DA/Splitter, but there is always something like this, HDMI to Scart - Composite and stereo. 10 on ebay

      http://1080P HDMI To SCART Composite...ter For TV DVD

      and then modulate it with this for circa 18 from the same marketplace:

      RF MODULATOR - CONVERT SCART PHONO TO TV AERIAL RF COAX | eBay

      I don't know what the quality would be like, but it should work.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      steveharvey2001 (17-11-16)

    5. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,953
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?

      All sounds a bit of a nightmare, I think I would try to run an HDMI cable to kitchen which would resolve that problem, I got a powered HDMI splitter from Amazon for about 15 which seems to work well. Then link the RF cable which used to go in the back of the Sky box, which should then give you Freeview on the remaining TV,s although you may need a powered booster in the loft. I'm currently using a 10 metre HDMI cable with no noticeable lose in quality. I did try HDMI senders but they were useless.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Koala5 For This Useful Post:

      steveharvey2001 (17-11-16)

    7. #4
      steveharvey2001's Avatar
      steveharvey2001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01905
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Worcester
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?

      The first link does not work, but I have found what you describe.

      Ideally I would like a splitter/converter with HDMI in and out - plus SCART out which would couple direct to the modulator. I haven't found such a thing yet :-(

      Perhaps eventually someone would come up with a product that recovered all functions..

      It would have terrestrial aerial in/out with DC power on the output coax. A separate coax out for the terrestrial feed to the TV and HDMI in/out.

      I have sketched an idea below...



      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      You'll need an HDMI DA/Splitter, but there is always something like this, HDMI to Scart - Composite and stereo. 10 on ebay

      http://1080P HDMI To SCART Composite...ter For TV DVD

      and then modulate it with this for circa 18 from the same marketplace:

      RF MODULATOR - CONVERT SCART PHONO TO TV AERIAL RF COAX | eBay

      I don't know what the quality would be like, but it should work.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails How much kit will I need to replicate the deleted RF2 feature ?-rf2-replicator.jpg  
      -------------------------------------------------------------
      "How can one little insulated wire bring so much happiness?!"
      Homer J Simpson

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION