Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 75
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Q - How many cables from dish

    This is a discussion on Sky Q - How many cables from dish within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi, I suspect this has been answered already but I have tried to read up before posting and whilst I ...

    1. #1
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub - No idea whether it is an ER110 or ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      225
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Hi,

      I suspect this has been answered already but I have tried to read up before posting and whilst I think I know the answer already I'm not certain.

      At the moment I have SkyHD with one extra multi-room.

      So I have a quad-LNB with two cables going to the lounge and the main Sky box and two cables going to the multi-room Sky box in the loft conversion.

      For some time we have wanted to accomodate a third Sky box but difficulties of adding and routing two more cables has put us off.

      Now with Q Silver my understanding is that I need a new LNB (maybe replace the dish if it is rusty etc) and just two cables. So if you have four like me, the two that aren't needed are simply capped off. The multi-room is replaced by mini boxes which are fed by computer network (wifi or wired) so don't need a satellite connection.

      Now for pricing, I see an estimated 12 on top of standard.

      Does this include the 'multi-room' to each of the minis. If so, as I am already paying extra for multiroom does this mean that total cost will be pretty much unchanged for me (one off purchases aside).

      Have I understood it correctly?

      Cheers,

      Nigel


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Yes, you will only need two cables now from the lnb/dish to the main box and use minis.
      The extra 12 a month is the multiscreen to allow access to all the minis.
      Two minis available to use any one time plus two tablets using the sky q app with the sky Q 2tb box (what was previously known as the sky q silver box).

      If you login to my sky and go here,
      Buy Sky Q - Your wireless home entertainment system
      It will show you your new sky q monthly costs total.
      You will need to add the two minis, first one costs 30 and any additional minis are 99 and there is also the 60 install fee for 2tb box. All these are just one off costs.
      It will obviously base the rest of the cost on your current pack subscriptions with their discounts still continuing.

    4. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Just ordered Sky Q 1Tb, it's only costing me 7 a month extra, that's with one mini. 45 one off installation.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Still can't help but feel that SkQ is a con.

      It states that they give you your first mini for free.... well they don't, it costs 30. Further boxes cost 99ea. The summary shows huge one off costs and then a section for equipment that states free. So what is it, is it free Sky or are you charging us for the minis? Make up your mind.

      Then after paying these huge one off costs for the free minis you find out that they are not actually yours!!

      So in reality you pay 15pm + 2.5pm for 1 extra box (which is then discounted to just 15pm from yr2).
      For 2 minis it is in reality 25.75pm for yr1 reducing to 15pm in yr 2.

      I'm amazed that they can so blatently charge for the equipment and then claim that it is free.

      This is what is preventing me from Qing. If the boxes were actually mine then the costs for the free boxes would be acceptable.... but not as they aren't mine.

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      The main reason I am going for Q is that my HD box is having a few too many 'moments' when it comes to on demand stuff, I am having to reboot or rebuild the planner a couple of times a week. I know what you mean though.

      I am also a little concerned about the amount of chatter going on elsewhere about the lack if a quick access method to the EPG on the Q remote. I would have thought that Sky would have been addressed this issue by now, along with the lack of favorites, but from what I've read it seems not.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      146Kg's Avatar
      146Kg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      [QUOTE=reddwarfcrew;465591]Still can't help but feel that SkQ is a con.

      I never thought of it that way, the extra Mini isn't mine, I'm not going to get the 99 back if I ever cancel, so what exactly is the 99 for ?
      It isn't installation, it isn't a purchase, it is not a deposit, so ................. ?

    8. #7
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Again mini boxes are free that is the first one and if that said customer is a new customer not a customer currently under contract and if the customer is under contract it also depends if they have a current multiscreen deal going on their account.

      New customer - First mini is free additional one are 99.
      Current Customers - First mini are 30 if you don't have multiscreen then additional are 99.
      Current Customers - First minis are 99 if you have multiscreen additional are 99.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      All equipment is free. Sky make this clear on the order page. There are one off costs though . I hope they get pulled up for it, I'd love to see them taken to court for saying equipment is free.

    10. #9
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      Show me where it says free.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    11. #10
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,047
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sky Q - How many cables from dish

      All I can find in the terms and conditions is:

      All Sky Q kit is loaned to you at no cost and must be returned at the end of your relevant subscription

      The ability to watch on an additional TV screen comes at a cost of 99 per additional TV (Additional TV Viewing Fee). We'll lend you one Sky Q Mini per extra TV, at no cost.

      For existing Sky TV customers without Sky+ Multiscreen, the Additional TV Viewing Fee will be discounted to 30 for your first TV but payable in full for subsequent TVs.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     
    Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION