Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

    This is a discussion on Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter within the Sky Q forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; hello, I have just upgraded to Sky Q. My installation is on the 10th of Sep 2016 I will be ...

    1. #1
      mrkis's Avatar
      mrkis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Belkin Padavan
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      hello, I have just upgraded to Sky Q. My installation is on the 10th of Sep 2016

      I will be getting a silver box in the living room and a minibox for the bedroom.

      Here's the complex bit...

      I want to use the bedroom minibox in two rooms, not simultaneously, either one bedroom or the other.

      Do I
      A... Change my order and buy 2 miniboxes (I was charged 30 for 1, so I hope a second would be 30 too)

      The downsides of this approach is one TV is neatly wall mounted and there's not a great a place to hide the box.
      And I would have to use Wifi for this additional box as I have no spare Ethernet ports.

      Is using wifi even possible when I'm not using the Sky Hub but my own router?

      OR DO I

      B... Use a HDMI splitter and Bluetooth remote

      The downside of this approach is that I need to use the Optical out for 1 TV and I'm not sure if this turns the HDMI audio output off or cause issues with the Dolby digital when using a splitter

      Is it possible to use a splitter and dolby digital output with hdmi audio too?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      2nd mini is 99.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      If the HDMI splitter does work, then you'll be Ok. If it doesn't you could make use of the AV output instead.

      You should also purchase a 2nd Bluetooth remote. This way you can control the Q Mini from the other room.

      Of course the Q Mini could just simply be unplugged from one room and plugged in in the other room. However over time you'd end up damaging the HDMI socket.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      mrkis's Avatar
      mrkis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Belkin Padavan
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      Quote Originally Posted by mrkis View Post
      Sky miniboxes are 99
      I have a loyalty discount to retain my business, thankfully only 30

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If the HDMI splitter does work, then you'll be Ok. If it doesn't you could make use of the AV output instead.
      .
      I wasn't aware that the miniboxes or the silver boxes had any outputs other than 1x hdmi


      Does anyone have any experience using a sky q minibox with a splitter and the digital optical sound output?
      Do you still get sound on the hdmi splitter?
      Does the dolby digital still work?
      Last edited by mrkis; 28-08-16 at 11:59 AM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      Only the Q Mini boxes have the socket for the AV adaptor.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      mrkis's Avatar
      mrkis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Belkin Padavan
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Only the Q Mini boxes have the socket for the AV adaptor.
      Ah Excellent.

      Will the following setup work ok.

      Sky Q Mini box
      HDMI @1080 -------------> Samsung 40" 1080 TV carrying sound (5.1)
      +
      AV cable composite ------> Old Fujitsu Plasma No Sound
      Digital Optical ------------> carrying dolby sound to Surround sound system used with Fujitsu plasma

      Will this work without needing to switch the audio settings every time in the Mini box menu?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      The AV adaptor only supports SD quality, not HD.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #8
      mrkis's Avatar
      mrkis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Belkin Padavan
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The AV adaptor only supports SD quality, not HD.
      That's ok because whilst the old plasma is 720 capable, it has only analogue connections and I currently use it in composite, so nothing lost.

      But will the sound work down the HDMI to the Samsung 40" as well as via optical to the surround sound system in dolby mode?

      Thanks for all the help.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      AV = Audio Visual. So yes the Audio lead is included as standard.

      I've just taken a look on the Sky website and the adaptor appears to be no longer available there.

      From what I saw of it and from speculation prior to launch, it appeared to be the same adaptor used with the latest Roku box. Perhaps if you could look on the Amazon or Roku site you may have better luck than me.

      This is what I found and I think it's correct: https://www.amazon.co.uk/HANDSOME-3-...dp/B01EBSX0ZI/

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #10
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,035
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Q setup advice 2x minibox or splitter

      The adaptor was not ever listed under the sky q kit.
      But it is listed under the Sky accessories>NOW tv section. It was first introduced for NOW tv and is the same kit that many who use for their sky q setups;
      https://accessories.sky.com/catalogu...v&category=all

      Just ask the engineer when he visits for one of these, he will have one of these on his van for you to use.
      Last edited by lettice; 30-08-16 at 09:53 PM.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to lettice For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (30-08-16)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION