Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 51
    Like Tree6Likes

    New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Hi all, I have not applied for the trial but as I stated in another thread my AEBS is reporting ...

    1. #11
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,225
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 138 Times in 106 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Hi all,

      I have not applied for the trial but as I stated in another thread my AEBS is reporting a IPv6 address. When I navigate to IPv6 test - IPv6/4 connectivity and speed test. I get the below

      New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre-screen-shot-2015-08-17-11.37.12.jpg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      You result shows your line is enabled for IPv6, not all are enabled yet.

      I would say you are not using the Sky DNS servers. Using the Sky servers I get 16/20 with a fail for DNS6+IP6. Using the Google IPv6 DNS server I get 17/20 with all the DNS reachable. I think I am a point short of you as I have ICMP requests filtered.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,225
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 138 Times in 106 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You result shows your line is enabled for IPv6, not all are enabled yet.

      I would say you are not using the Sky DNS servers. Using the Sky servers I get 16/20 with a fail for DNS6+IP6. Using the Google IPv6 DNS server I get 17/20 with all the DNS reachable. I think I am a point short of you as I have ICMP requests filtered.
      Have never used Sky's DNS servers, I have always used google's and only just yesterday added them for IPv6

    5. #14
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Have never used Sky's DNS servers
      Not using Sky's recursive DNS will mess up CDN steering meaning possibly worse performance for your service.
      Not to mention Sky's DNS is distributed around their network and anycasted, so you'll always hit the closest server, which means faster name resolution than if your request goes to an off-net server that you've manually set.

      Anywho, regarding your IPv6, *squints at the screenshot*. That redacted address doesn't look like it starts with Sky's prefix of 2a02:c78::/29 although it's hard to tell.
      Is it possible you've got something else in your network doing IPv6 tunnelling, or something else sending rogue RAs?

    6. #15
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: HG612B + pfSense 2.3.3.a.20160903.1846
      Sky TV: DRX890c 2Tb
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,215
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 99 Times in 93 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      Have never used Sky's DNS servers, I have always used google's and only just yesterday added them for IPv6
      I have a few issues with googles' ipv6 servers, they don't always resolve if the host does not have an ipv6 address, such as BBC - Homepage, at least it didn't when I tried it. I am now using this sites servers

      IPv6 NAT64 gateway

      Using one as a primary DNS and a google one as the secondary. PC I am writing this message on set to IPv6 only and so far so good. I'll put my name down for the trial.
      Scubbie likes this.
      -----------------------------------------------------------
      To every rule there is an exception, and vice versa
      -----------------------------------------------------------

    7. #16
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: HG612B + pfSense 2.3.3.a.20160903.1846
      Sky TV: DRX890c 2Tb
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,215
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 99 Times in 93 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Scubbie,

      Maybe we should create a Forum sub just to discuss ipv6. It's a subject that is not easy to get ones head around and sharing the knowledge may help clarify things. It's taken me a while to get a basic grasp of it and I've learned a few things that might be useful to others.
      -----------------------------------------------------------
      To every rule there is an exception, and vice versa
      -----------------------------------------------------------

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      I have raised this with NewsReader. Hopefully he will oblige and do so soon.

      Of course anything discussed within the confines of any Beta Group can't be posted on a public forum until consent has been given. This doesn't mean that people won't be wanting a general idea though.

      Of course once Sky does launch IPv6 across the country people will also very much be wanting to know what to do, if anything, and how things may be different with IPv6.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      marjohn56 (21-08-15),speedyrite (24-08-15)

    10. #18
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: HG612B + pfSense 2.3.3.a.20160903.1846
      Sky TV: DRX890c 2Tb
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,215
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 99 Times in 93 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      Thanks Scubbie,

      I agree with the beta info, but I am not part of that as yet or even if ever.

      Some pointers to force windows to use ipv6 rather than ipv4 as it does by default ( when running dual stack ) I found really useful and that solved many of the issues I was having.
      -----------------------------------------------------------
      To every rule there is an exception, and vice versa
      -----------------------------------------------------------

    11. #19
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,179
      Thanks
      303
      Thanked 148 Times in 142 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      An IPv6 sub forum could become a useful resource for other users.

      There's a lot of good quality info out there about IPv6, but the problem as always is sifting out the wheat from the chaff.

      And Skyuser also has a good past record of producing useful guides on a variety of technical stuff to help other users.

      Let's hope it comes to fruition.
      Scubbie likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... is powered by Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro ++ is a networks & broadband specialist
      ++ recommends NOW TV - streaming is the future of tv ++
      ++ My blog ++

    12. #20
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: New IPv6 Trial for Sky Broadband & Sky Fibre

      I agree that a sub forum would be a great idea, as IPv6 becomes more relevant then somewhere ideas and issues can be posted can surely only help.

      As stated by speedyrite this forum has a great rep for creating guides to assists people and I have to admit this would probably be the first place I would come to if I needed help.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO