Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 38 of 38

    New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

    This is a discussion on New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I am wondering if something like this would do the job - Universal RF Modulator Convert Scart To Coax Videogames ...

    1. #31
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      I am wondering if something like this would do the job - Universal RF Modulator Convert Scart To Coax Videogames | eBay You can be sure if it does the price will shoot up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      That would certainly put the Sky STB content over the RF output. You would still need something to do the Remote Control though as well.

      Sure the Sky+ app will do a lot of things, but there are a handful of functions where it would let you down (i.e. on/off, purging the 'Deleted' tab in the planner, checking signal strength/quality).

      As much as people may criticise this change, there is a major advantage that the owners of older STBs do not have in respect of future changes. With the knowledge that some TVs are now being produced without an Analogue tuner, there will likely be a demand for a RF Modulator which can put the signal in a digital channel format. Cost aside, the owners of these new STBs could do this. There is no chance with either of mine, unless I get one that plugs into the Scart socket.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      You would still need something to do the Remote Control though as well.
      Wouldn't the 'Magic eye' do this?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      gymno's Avatar
      gymno Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      I'm sure this is the same product with a bit more information, including under the ask a question tab.
      Nothing about remote control / magic eye functions though.

    6. #35
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      If you can't wait for the IO-Link you could use a "Pipe Freesat round your house" kit. Although it was intended for use with Freesat (No RF out) it works perfectly well with the Sky Digibox.
      http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/page3.htm#freesat

    7. #36
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL2+ ~6Mb
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ & mini box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,284
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Don't encourage them! You can get those same glasses for free at some cinemas!

      Update: It has been confirmed that the IO-Link will cost 25. I am waiting for confirmation with regards to what date it will become available.

      If you are not interested in paying this price, then please feel free to search for an alternative 'RF Modulator' (12-40). You will also need something to transmit the IR signal (IR Senders are about 20-35) too. These are the two functions which this IO-Link does.
      I *know* they will be 25 when they become available, but hey the wifi adaptor was 65 then 9.99 then 22 so there could be some price movement in future.

    8. #37
      itsanewlifeforme's Avatar
      itsanewlifeforme is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: New House - No TV
      Router: New house - no broadband
      Sky TV: Nothing yet
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      Does anyone know the specific model numbers of the Hard Disk drives being used in these newer 2TB boxes?

    9. #38
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: New Sky+ HD STBs with WiFi

      PM just replied to.

      Copy of the part about the drive:
      The most important thing to understand is that a drive used in the Sky+ HD STB is not the same as one that you would use in a PC. This rules out the 'Green' drives. Sure their power consumption is less, which is required, but the head movement and error correction process is different. The transfer speed may also be wrong.

      The kind of drive you need must be rated for a PVR.

      The 2TB drives supplied in the DRX895 and DRX895W sadly are not available in the UK market for you and I. They are made by Hitachi from memory. So sadly you can't get them.

      So which drives are fine?

      Well the original model used in the DRX890 was the Seagate Pipeline 500GB. This range has a 2TB version which is fine.

      WD also have a range of AV-GP drives. Since this range has been changed periodically it is best that I provide you with a link to their specifications:

      http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/librar...879-701250.pdf

      You need a drive which works at no more than 300Gb/s. Some can be jumpered to work at this speed. Don't get a 3TB drive as this won't be supported. Sadly for now 2TB is the largest you can fit.

      Looking at the table above, I would suggest that the WD20EURS meets the specs, but the WD20EURX might be able to be jumpered to work at 3Gb/s (check first).

      There is also a tool (mentioned in the ExPVR thread) that should be used to modify the head parking on the WD drives. This is important to extend the life of the drive in the Sky STB and also to reduce the noise. The head parking should be set to a high figure. The default setting is too short and causes the drive to make a little noise and the head mechanism wears out as it keeps restarting too soon.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO