Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 39 of 39
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

    This is a discussion on Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Blimey Scubbie - no offence was taken I am sort of with "puretoon" - Sky was charging too much dosh ...

    1. #31
      Lymmranger's Avatar
      Lymmranger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: poynton
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      89
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      Blimey Scubbie - no offence was taken

      I am sort of with "puretoon" - Sky was charging too much dosh

      I suspect that this will be the case again VERY soon

      ....Mr M is a very slippery grasping son of a b**** who will not be happy untill he is declared "king of the world"

      more likely ALL media will declare him so - and of course that will make it so..............

      Edit - Dam - I will probrably get "banned" now


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      I am just glad it is not the other way around, O2 were total rubish.

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      Quote Originally Posted by Lymmranger View Post
      ....Mr M is a very slippery grasping son of a b**** who will not be happy untill he is declared "king of the world"

      more likely ALL media will declare him so - and of course that will make it so..............

      Edit - Dam - I will probrably get "banned" now
      Well we have some threads on this forum which aren't too pretty for them either.

      However the Murdochs are no longer on the Board of Directors.

      Quote Originally Posted by BritBrat View Post
      I am just glad it is not the other way around, O2 were total rubish.
      lol - Actually they have been fine for a friend of mine. Admittedly he doesn't use the Internet a great deal, so he has a low monthly cap. He also has an O2 mobile contract linked, so he gets a discount for that too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      mental1's Avatar
      mental1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      I have a question regarding their fiber services seeing that is is available in my area can one have this without the sky package or is this needed, unlike the dsl package where you can have broadband on its own?

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      You do not need to have Sky TV to have Sky Broadband or Sky Fibre Broadband.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,822
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      You do need to take Sky Phone rental, the same as ADSL.
      Scubbie likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #37
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL2+ ~6Mb
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ & mini box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,271
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You do not need to have Sky TV to have Sky Broadband or Sky Fibre Broadband.
      You can get free setup as a tv customer too, but you have to pay £50 setup without tv for fibre.

    9. #38
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      Interesting that you should say that the setup fee is only applicable if you do not have Sky TV.

      On my initial call to Sky I was only offered SFUP with the installation charge. I tried to get it waived, but the person wouldn't do it.

      It was only after talking with someone else I was able to get it waived.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #39
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL2+ ~6Mb
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ & mini box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,271
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts

      Re: Sky to Acquire Telefónica UK's Broadband and Fixed-Line Telephony Business

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Interesting that you should say that the setup fee is only applicable if you do not have Sky TV.

      On my initial call to Sky I was only offered SFUP with the installation charge. I tried to get it waived, but the person wouldn't do it.

      It was only after talking with someone else I was able to get it waived.
      I didn't say "is" I said "can".
      It can be waived in the dept I work in ;-) if you have TV but not if you don't.

      Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (26-03-13)

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO