Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
    Results 51 to 58 of 58
    Like Tree1Likes

    Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

    This is a discussion on Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101 within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by smoothy Im too hoping for a work around, i think isitme was working on this with the ...

    1. #51
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by smoothy View Post
      Im too hoping for a work around, i think isitme was working on this with the old n router but because of MER there was problems. As i too have now managed to wangle this new router from sky i was somewhat dusapointed to see there was no option to change the dns servers... Stil 90......

      Please if any one knows of a way to change these:-)
      Can you back up the settings on the Hub and see if the DNS servers are mentioned there. If they are it may be possible to change them by editting the file. It was NR who was working on this, not me, I don't have a Sky N router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Richardjb's Avatar
      Richardjb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Can you back up the settings on the Hub and see if the DNS servers are mentioned there. If they are it may be possible to change them by editting the file. It was NR who was working on this, not me, I don't have a Sky N router.
      Yes it is possible to back up the settings and I've changed the dns server settings, but everytime you restore the altered file it has no effect, it immediately reverts back to sky's dns servers.

      I've heard it has something to do with it being sky's own firmware.

    4. #53
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      That is a pity, some had success with the older firmware on the 2504N.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #54
      chaos666's Avatar
      chaos666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by terryf View Post
      They should have put at least 6 Ethernet ports on it, now that so much new stuff needs connecting.
      buy a network switch they are not that much plus the ones in routers burn out very easily I had it happen to me a few times

    6. #55
      nervekeg's Avatar
      nervekeg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kincorth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Does anyone know the size of NAT Table for this new Hub, how many connections it can handle or how long it's set to hold onto them for?

      I ask this as I recently tried a few 3rd party routers to replace my aging Sagem F@st Sky router, but quickly found out that P2P traffic can cripple the network very easily with some routers.

      I returned the 3rd party routers and am back using my rock-solid Sagem again, as it seems to handle multiple connections very easily. I'd been oblivious to this before.

      Before I upgrade to Fibre Broadband with Sky, I'd like to know how it performs with regards to NAT and maximum connections. The tech support seem alien to this query and won't let me know if this is a re-brand of something else so that I may look it up myself.

      Can anyone here help?

      Cheers

    7. #56
      chaos666's Avatar
      chaos666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      The hub is the worst router I have ever owned I had to send it back as it was as much use a paperweight with it dropping the network side of it and sky did not hesitate to blame my equipment such as my pc and network switch, they also told me to take it to a pc specialist although i am trained PC engineer the worst customer service I have ever had as sky know nothing about the computer side of its connection just the part where it concerns the connection.

    8. #57
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by nervekeg View Post
      Does anyone know the size of NAT Table for this new Hub, how many connections it can handle or how long it's set to hold onto them for?

      I ask this as I recently tried a few 3rd party routers to replace my aging Sagem F@st Sky router, but quickly found out that P2P traffic can cripple the network very easily with some routers. ...
      I've had no issues running torrents on my ADSL connection. Since I have a PC running torrents 24/7 I think it is safe to say that all is well. For good practical reasons I don't have it set to 'unlimited' connections, but I think it is set around the defaults. The only other significant change is that my upload speed is limited to around 65kb during the say.

      Quote Originally Posted by chaos666 View Post
      The hub is the worst router I have ever owned I had to send it back as it was as much use a paperweight with it dropping the network side of it and sky did not hesitate to blame my equipment such as my pc and network switch, they also told me to take it to a pc specialist although i am trained PC engineer the worst customer service I have ever had as sky know nothing about the computer side of its connection just the part where it concerns the connection.
      Perhaps you should discuss this in another thread, but since I received the Sky Hub SR101 as a part of the Beta trial I haven't had this problem. Other issues have been addressed during the Beta trial, but nothing as serious as this for any of us.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #58
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      New Parnetal Controls.

      Came across this - News Sky boosts internet safety with network-level protection - uSwitch.com I wonder if it means they are going to open up the firmware in the routers, or is it just a case of someone getting their wires crossed?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO