Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 58
    Like Tree1Likes

    Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

    This is a discussion on Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101 within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Does this router have a user end QoS control?...

    1. #31
      Savage's Avatar
      Savage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Does this router have a user end QoS control?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Deepskisam's Avatar
      Deepskisam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Swindon
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      I have just signed up to Sky broadband as we are moving house on the 5th of November. I signed up on the 20th of October and the new router has just arrived. They have sent out the Sagem router and I am wondering if there is any point in contacting and asking for the new SR101 as a new customer. I have to admit I have been with talktalk for the last 3 years who have been pretty good. I have been testing routers for them over this period and the latest router is extremely good (Huwaie HG533). It provides bonded wireless at 2.4 and 5ghz range as well as usb access for print and external hdd through SAMBA and a dlna server in built. The wireless range is extremely good as well. It also has a gb lan interface. It is a shame to see Sky behind the curve on this one with these elements not being built into their latest model. I may have to see if I can get that one up and running on my sky broadband.

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,833
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Does this router have a user end QoS control?
      No.

      They have sent out the Sagem router and I am wondering if there is any point in contacting and asking for the new SR101 as a new customer.
      You can get the user details from this easily to allow you to use your own router. Sky claim their new router has the best range of all the main ISPs offerings, from what you say, the TT router is far better. Provided it is not locked to TalkTalk you should have no difficulty using it with Sky.

      Whether you pursue them for the latest router is up to you, but there is no way yet of getting the connection details out of it if you want to use another router. They will probably not demand the return of the router they have sent you, but they may remove it from their database making its connection details unusable. Sky are different from TalkTalk in that the connection details are unique to the router, not the user.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      chrisw99's Avatar
      chrisw99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hulme Hall
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      My old router died, so I decided to buy the Sky Hub online via the sky website.

      It was 39, but the postage was free, not the 2.18 stated in the first post in this thread.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to chrisw99 For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (29-10-12)

    7. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Thanks for this Chris.

      A few other members have said much the same for now. It may be safer to warn people of the possible charge for postage as Sky may well put this back in again at a later date.

      It is also worth reminding people that the price will rise in January, as stated by Sky.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #36
      highdef's Avatar
      highdef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Burgess Hill
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      I have just ordered on line the new Sky Hub after having the original white Netgear one since day 1.
      When I connect it up for the first time will all my wifi devices phones, laptops etc have to reset their passwords.
      Will it have the original password thats on the Netgear allready installed on it.
      Also I have installed a Sky wireless addaptor (looks like miniture box) connected to my Sky+HD box, will I have to do anything to that once installed?
      Last edited by highdef; 03-11-12 at 11:03 AM. Reason: extra points

    9. #37
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Will it have the original password thats on the Netgear allready installed on it
      If you have changed the wireless network name and the password on the old router, just change it to the same on the Hub and you should have no further messing around.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #38
      highdef's Avatar
      highdef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01444
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      Burgess Hill
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      No Everything is untouched on the netgear.
      Many Thanx for info

    11. #39
      puppet's Avatar
      puppet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      92
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by highdef View Post
      I have just ordered on line the new Sky Hub after having the original white Netgear one since day 1.
      When I connect it up for the first time will all my wifi devices phones, laptops etc have to reset their passwords.
      Will it have the original password thats on the Netgear allready installed on it
      Out of the box the Hub will have a different SSID (Network Name) and also different Network Password to your existing Netgear router. The Hub will come with all the necessary details to let you log into it's Graphical User Interface, and what you can then do is log into it and change the SSID (Network Name) and wireless password to be the same as your Netgear. That way, any wireless devices should continue to be able your wireless Network as if nothing has changed.

      (Obviously to do this you will need to temporarily put the Hubs "out of the box" details into at least one device to let you access it in order to update the details to what you require)

      EDIT: Beaten to it while typing!
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    12. #40
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Everything you need to know about the Sky Hub SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by highdef View Post
      No Everything is untouched on the netgear.
      Many Thanx for info
      OK then, on the new Hub there will be a password on the label, you will need to do one of two things;

      1) Change the wireless devices to that new password that is on the hub
      2) Change the default network and password for the wireless devices in the hub, then change your wireless devices to that network name and password and connect


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO