Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 37 of 37

    Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

    This is a discussion on Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Originally Posted by velcrohead Just checking this works, I posted here the other day and it's nowhere to be seen. ...

    1. #31
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      Quote Originally Posted by velcrohead View Post
      Just checking this works, I posted here the other day and it's nowhere to be seen.

      Hhhmm, This one shows so wonder where my other post went?
      We don't remove posts, click on this and you should see them?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/searc...st&showposts=1


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: SKY SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      564
      Thanks
      67
      Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      Who makes the new 2tb box?? Amstrad again?

    4. #33
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      As Sky now own Amstrad it is unlikely the boxes will be made by anyone else. I believe they are now even branded 'Sky', rather than Amstrad.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      On the rear mine just says "Model: DRX895". Underneath it says "Made in China".

      In line with the new firmware, all the DRX890 and DRX895 now show the Manufacturer as "Sky" when you look at the System Details page. The Amstrad DRX780 should still show "Amstrad".

      The latest DRX890s also just show "Model: DRX890" on the rear as well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      I suspect that the Sky box is made by the same company in China (Foxconn) that makes all the other high-end stuff (Playstation, Kindle, iPad, Nintendo Wii, etc)

    7. #36
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      This is very likely. I believe Sky has used Foxconn for some time now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,826
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Launch of the Sky+HD 2TB Box

      Foxconn make the PCB and other components but do not turn out a finished product.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO