Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Do You Have Or Want The SR101 Hub?

    Voters
    85. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      42 49.41%
    • No

      4 4.71%
    • I would pay for one as an upgrade

      25 29.41%
    • I do not want one

      14 16.47%
    Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 245
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

    This is a discussion on Sky's New Router / HUB SR101 within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; I do not think that support for such a service would be limited just one router. It would make it ...

    1. #61
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      I do not think that support for such a service would be limited just one router. It would make it unworkable and unpopular.

      Sure Sky can supply Broadband to those who have Sky TV in the UK, but there are those in Ireland, Jersey & Guernsey who will also have multi-room subscriptions and won't have Sky Broadband.

      (Yes I know that Sky has launched BB is Ireland recently)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      494
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      For Sky to provide all its users with the new router would cost upwards of 150M. I can't see that happening.
      Where did you get that figure from?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I do not think that support for such a service would be limited just one router. It would make it unworkable and unpopular.
      I hope so.

      It was the installer that put in our Multi-room that mentioned the streaming and I couldn't see any reason why it wouldn't work with the current Sky router, which is why I am reticent to pay for any "upgrade".

      I currently stream to Apple TV all the time through it without any hitches, including HD video.

    4. #63
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      It was the installer that put in our Multi-room that mentioned the streaming
      We have always said that Sky setup their Broadband profiles for stability and to deliver content etc - As for the streaming, plenty of different unofficial versions that this is the case and is going to happen with this router later on this year or so.

      The previous post pretty much gives it all away afaik

      There has been some talk of the Sky+ indicator on the front of the router, and what it may be for.

      Sky previously revealed that they were developing a method of streaming what we have recorded on our personal Sky+HD boxes to an iPad over an internet connection. A subsequent survey by Sky suggested that additional hardware would be required to make such a feature work.

      They are also working on planner sharing between boxes in the same hom vie their ethernet connections.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #64
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      494
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 25 Times in 22 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Actually it was "planner sharing" he mentioned first, he then went onto talk about streaming, although I see it as two different things when it comes to a SkyHD box (i.e. with no HDD):

      1. Accessing and streaming content that you have recorded on your main Sky+HD box (so planner sharing) and

      2. Streaming Anytime+ content direct from Sky

      I guess the problem with the second option is the lack of memory in a SkyHD box to buffer a direct stream which is probably why it will end up doing everything via the main Sky+HD box.

      If only they stuck in a little bit of flash memory like there is in an Apple TV!

      Off Topic: How can I change my username? I registered on the forum ages ago but actually use a different username everywhere else (stereohaven), so if someone could change it I would be grateful!

    6. #65
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by hoario54 View Post
      Off Topic: How can I change my username? I registered on the forum ages ago but actually use a different username everywhere else (stereohaven), so if someone could change it I would be grateful!
      Send me a PM with the name you want and I will change it for you now?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #66
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      There are a few things to consider with regards to streaming content from the Sky+ HD STB.


      1. Streaming to a SkyHD STB (over the same LAN)
      2. Streaming to a Tablet or Smart phone using a Sky App over the same LAN
      3. Streaming to a Tablet or Smart phone using a Sky App when away from home over 3G or WiFi


      It is this last one that will be interesting, should it be included.

      When you look at it there are some interesting technical issues to consider, such as the upload speed on some broadband connections. We have heard rumours on this but we have heard lots of other rumours which haven't proven true so will keep quiet for now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #67
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,179
      Thanks
      303
      Thanked 148 Times in 142 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Sky Hub fever is now breaking out (in a low key sort of way) over on the DS forum. It sounds great!

      New Sky Hub - Sky Broadband - Digital Spy Forums
      ++ speedyrite ... is powered by Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro ++ is a networks & broadband specialist
      ++ recommends NOW TV - streaming is the future of tv ++
      ++ My blog ++

    9. #68
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,620 Times in 1,582 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      @Sterohaven
      Where did you get that figure from?
      Sky have just under 4 million broadband users at around 40 per router.

      I know they may not cost Sky 40, but that's about what they will sell for.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #69
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Sky Hub fever is now breaking out (in a low key sort of way) over on the DS forum. It sounds great!

      New Sky Hub - Sky Broadband - Digital Spy Forums
      I just posted a link to this thread so that they can see the router so to speak.

      Is it made by Sagem?

      It's clearly branded Sky on every picture I have seen.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #70
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,179
      Thanks
      303
      Thanked 148 Times in 142 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I just posted a link to this thread so that they can see the router so to speak.

      Is it made by Sagem?

      It's clearly branded Sky on every picture I have seen.
      No I don't reckon it's made by Sagem.
      ++ speedyrite ... is powered by Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro ++ is a networks & broadband specialist
      ++ recommends NOW TV - streaming is the future of tv ++
      ++ My blog ++

     

     
    Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO