Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Do You Have Or Want The SR101 Hub?

    Voters
    85. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      42 49.41%
    • No

      4 4.71%
    • I would pay for one as an upgrade

      25 29.41%
    • I do not want one

      14 16.47%
    Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast
    Results 231 to 240 of 245
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

    This is a discussion on Sky's New Router / HUB SR101 within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; No this I agree with Originally Posted by Isitme Sky's 3 replacement routers for their original DG834GT were not a ...

    1. #231
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      No this I agree with

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Sky's 3 replacement routers for their original DG834GT were not a patch on it. Lets hope this one is a lot better.
      I was pretty reluctant to stop using my DG834GT as the wireless signal was excellent compared to my current one, see user info. Also, the DG834GT has a boosted wireless transfer rate which was awesome. Only changed it because the soddin firmware broke the LAN IP. Quick question. Does the new Hub allow for LAN IP and allow for security to be turned off and the setup of a Wireless Station Access List? I prefer this over using a WPA code or equivelant.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #232
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      There is a pretty comprehensive archive of info about the SR101 here.

      Sky Hub SR101

      With thanks to the guys n gals who took the time to produce it all.
      Isitme and itype like this.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to NewsreadeR For This Useful Post:

      itype (16-10-12)

    5. #233
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      I never knew that existed. Thanks!

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      There is a pretty comprehensive archive of info about the SR101 here.

      Sky Hub SR101

      With thanks to the guys n gals who took the time to produce it all.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    6. #234
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      I never knew that existed. Thanks!
      Its a new project we are working on, with info for all Sky products etc in one place. Unfortunately progress is slow lol


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #235
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,619 Times in 1,581 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      itype wrote -
      Does the new Hub allow for LAN IP and allow for security to be turned off and the setup of a Wireless Station Access List? I prefer this over using a WPA code or equivelant.
      Although the Wireless Access list will give some protection against the very casual hacker it is really no defence at all. If you are not using the highest method of encryption available, WPA2-AES on the Sky router, you are being irresponsible and can have your wireless access penetrated by any reasonably competent 'script kiddie'.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #236
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      I set it this way a few years ago when I was younger and thought it was safer. After doing a quick google search, it clearly isn't. Luckily, as of this date I haven't seen or have neighbours that have that sort of knowledge, I'm OCD and am always checking my router information and connected devices. I'm not going to change it now until we upgrade and get a new router, which will be shortly. I just can't be bothered, unless I really have to, to change all devices, which are many, to work with the passwords. I'll change it when I get a hub. Cheers for pointing it out to me though.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Although the Wireless Access list will give some protection against the very casual hacker it is really no defence at all. If you are not using the highest method of encryption available, WPA2-AES on the Sky router, you are being irresponsible and can have your wireless access penetrated by any reasonably competent 'script kiddie'.

    9. #237
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,821
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,619 Times in 1,581 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Unfortunately anyone using a scanner, like Inssider or Netstumbler, will see that your wireless is unsecured and see it as an invitation to join in. Giving your devices a passphrase takes a few minutes each and only has to be set up once. It is well worth the time taken.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #238
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unfortunately anyone using a scanner, like Inssider or Netstumbler, will see that your wireless is unsecured and see it as an invitation to join in. Giving your devices a passphrase takes a few minutes each and only has to be set up once. It is well worth the time taken.
      Totally agree Tom.

    11. #239
      rhyshardy2010's Avatar
      rhyshardy2010 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kensal Green
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by itype View Post
      as of this date I haven't seen or have neighbours that have that sort of knowledge, I'm OCD and am always checking my router information and connected devices.
      The easiest way to get by this. If you run a quick program like many available on mac, linux and even windows. These then pick up which devices are connected to which access point.

      So it will see that your device with a mac of say 00:11:fg:44:ff is connected to your router.
      Then they change their own device to YOUR mac.

      The router thinks it's you connecting. BANG they're on.
      When you check in the router you think 'oh I'm online, that's fine.' It often shows up as your machine online in the router interface as the hacker is using your MAC.

      Can be cracked in about 15 seconds of playing.

      If anything this kind of protection is worse than having no encryption as at least then it's easier to tell they're on it.

    12. #240
      dbassett's Avatar
      dbassett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: ecclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      got my fibre modem today it is the old 2504n one. slightly disappointed its not the new one. but as long as my fibre connection works ok next week i'll be happy with the old modem, its not as tho they work much different.
      Last edited by dbassett; 18-10-12 at 11:14 AM.

     

     
    Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO