Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: Do You Have Or Want The SR101 Hub?

    Voters
    85. You may not vote on this poll
    • Yes

      42 49.41%
    • No

      4 4.71%
    • I would pay for one as an upgrade

      25 29.41%
    • I do not want one

      14 16.47%
    Page 13 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast
    Results 121 to 130 of 245
    Like Tree29Likes

    Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

    This is a discussion on Sky's New Router / HUB SR101 within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; does anyone know who manufactured the Sky Hub, when i phoned Sky, i was told i would get the Netgear ...

    1. #121
      Kymru's Avatar
      Kymru is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtown (WNNN)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR101 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Location
      same as exchange
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      does anyone know who manufactured the Sky Hub, when i phoned Sky, i was told i would get the Netgear router (not sure if that was the previous wireless N)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #122
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Built for Sky by Sky, (although it was probably built by a company in China for Sky) but definitely not Netgear or Sagem


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #123
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,830
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 1,621 Times in 1,583 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Could it be Amstrad? They now own the factory etc.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #124
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Could it be Amstrad? They now own the factory etc.
      Nope.

      Have a look in area 51 in about 10 minutes.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #125
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      I have just heard that Beta Tester's can now share their experience with the new SR101 hub, watch this space. (Apart from some details obviously)


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #126
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      I have posted up the specs of the new router here:

      Specifications of the Sky Hub SR101

      For the benefit of this thread too:

      • Wireless: WiFi N 144mbps on a single channel (4 MIMO aerials inside) – WiFi Alliance Certification
      • Ethernet: 4 100mb Ports with activity LEDs
      • ADSL2+ Socket
      • Built in PSU
      • Automatically and dynamically selects optimum wireless channel
      • 4 Simple LED icon indicators (Power, Wireless, Internet, Sky+ HD)
      • Energy efficient - complies with the “Code of Conduct on Energy Consumption of Broadband Equipment” within Europe
      • Automated loss of connection diagnostics (pending release)
      • Same router for both ADSL & Fibre
      • WiFi Chipset: Broadcom 6362
      NewsreadeR likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #127
      therealdj's Avatar
      therealdj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ashton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky SR101 Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      77
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Whoops!!
      just tried on a different pc and it's now connecting at 140mbps so looks like the wifi is better than I thought!
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    9. #128
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      It definitely supports up to 144mbps

      As it uses the 2.4GHz spectrum it does have to compete with neighbouring WiFi routers, access points and other computers for airspace. Sky has introduced a new system (at least for them) that watches the signal and looks to change channels automatically if the current channel is too busy.

      Initially many on the Beta test were setting the channel manually but after discussing this, some changed it back to 'Auto', including myself. No one has complained about this feature and all appears to be fine with it.

      Knowing how busy my own area is I am glad to say that things have been fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #129
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,237
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      It's using short guard interval then.

      Guard interval - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia which is why it can get 144Mbit/s out of a 20Mhz wide channel instead of 130Mbit/s

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to dragon2611 For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (21-08-12)

    12. #130
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky's New Router / HUB SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by Kymru View Post
      does anyone know who manufactured the Sky Hub, when i phoned Sky, i was told i would get the Netgear router (not sure if that was the previous wireless N)
      Hows the connection doing?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 13 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO