Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 72
    Like Tree17Likes

    Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched? within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Bwahahahahahaha Just checked and it said this lol. You don't currently have an active compatible landline at your address so ...

    1. #41
      fluke's Avatar
      fluke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sydenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      SE London
      Posts
      194
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      Bwahahahahahaha

      Just checked and it said this lol.

      You don't currently have an active compatible landline at your address so you need to take Sky Talk with Sky Line Rental to proceed with your order.

      Sky Broadband Unlimited, Everyday Lite and Sky Fibre Unlimited are available:

      You'll need to take Sky Line Rental with any of our Sky Broadband products.


      ==========
      Regards
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 1
      Router: tp link archer d7 + draytek vigor 130 modem
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,213
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      yea you have to take line rental for it lol

    4. #43
      fluke's Avatar
      fluke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sydenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      SE London
      Posts
      194
      Thanks
      25
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      "You don't currently have an active compatible landline at your address"

      So what am I using to view this page on obviously a flaw somewhere.


      ==========
      Regards
      Dave

    5. #44
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      because like all line checkers it uses the BTO database and so only recognises bt lines, if it doesnt detect a bt line it asumes you dont have a line that would be compatible with Sky broadband (ie if you had a virgin line), if youre already on sky's own SVBN network then your line isnt actually a bt line anymore and so wont be in the BTO database but if you login to your my sky account it usually then detects that you have a Sky line.

      I guess its expected that current customers would login to their acc to proceed as an upgrade and so any sky line should be acknowleged but if not logged in it thinks you are a new customer and doesnt detect any bt line that would be needed to get Sky broadband, maybe Sky should put a note on their site stating that current Sky customers with a Sky line should login to their account before using the line checker, would save alot of confusion.

    6. #45
      follybridgeinn's Avatar
      follybridgeinn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Pontllanfraith, Blackwood
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      Hmmmmmmm...Not sure this is correct Moxey....

      I have SKY line on Talk unlimited... But the SKY fibre checker does not like my line either. I have checked using the SKY fibre checker whilst being logged into My Sky and when not......When i am logged it is says i do not have a compatible line for SKY Talk (i already have it..LoL) and if i log in whilst not signed in is says their records show i have a current SKY line and need to log in only to get the previous message again..LoL

      Saying this i am on a SKY line and if i check with the BT wholesale checker just by entering my telephone number (SKY) it recognises the number and tells me exactly what i can have.

    7. #46
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      26,836
      Thanks
      764
      Thanked 2,137 Times in 2,016 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      The On-Line checker is still apparently having problems with customers who are already with Sky.

      I think that it is being updated every day at present as details I have been getting have behaved differently from time to time.

      Ideally you should be able to log in. This doesn't always work. Sometimes you can get a better response by logging out.

      If both methods fail and you've tried by using the Address too, then give Sky a friendly call. As a lot of their staff are not yet trained correctly on Sky Fibre products, you may need to make a few calls.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #47
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      Quote Originally Posted by follybridgeinn View Post
      Hmmmmmmm...Not sure this is correct Moxey....

      I have SKY line on Talk unlimited... But the SKY fibre checker does not like my line either. I have checked using the SKY fibre checker whilst being logged into My Sky and when not......When i am logged it is says i do not have a compatible line for SKY Talk (i already have it..LoL) and if i log in whilst not signed in is says their records show i have a current SKY line and need to log in only to get the previous message again..LoL

      Saying this i am on a SKY line and if i check with the BT wholesale checker just by entering my telephone number (SKY) it recognises the number and tells me exactly what i can have.
      If your number is detected on the BTW site then you still actually have a bt line but just pay the line rental to Sky via Wholesale Line Rental, this is a totally different situation to having a full Sky LLU service on SVBN where bt no longer have any details about your line, this seems to me where the Sky system maybe throws a fit.
      Its possible that if you have a fully Sky line it shows up in MySky and if you have a bt line with no Sky WLR it shows up fine when not logged in but if its a mix of bt line but Sky WLR it throws a fit as in your case where if not logged in it tells you to log in due to having Sky WLR but then once logged in it still has a hissy fit due to it being a bt line not Sky's SVBN, i could be wrong but its looking that way to me.

    9. #48
      terryf's Avatar
      terryf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: retford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      So if it's for new customers only, then I suppose it will be tough luck for anyone loyal to sky for years when new customers moving from Virgin or BT take up all free lines in the fibre box.
      Typical Sky they don't deserve loyalty.
      Terry

    10. #49
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      Quote Originally Posted by terryf View Post
      So if it's for new customers only, then I suppose it will be tough luck for anyone loyal to sky for years when new customers moving from Virgin or BT take up all free lines in the fibre box.
      Typical Sky they don't deserve loyalty.
      Terry
      tbh - I think things will change very fast.

      According to other websites, it is for new customers only, as in new to Sky Broadband, and not new as in already got LLU and upgrading to Fibre. But other people who post on here (and work at Sky) seem to think that is not the case. They are suggesting that if you have LLU and order Fibre, and the tester shows 80/20 then you should be able to get it.

      Time will tell.

      fwiw I think it is crazy if someone on LLU and wants fibre cannot get 80/20 but can only get 40/2 - It just does not make any sense.
      Angel_Rex and Ipster like this.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #50
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: SKY SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      564
      Thanks
      67
      Thanked 16 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro about to be launched?

      5-10mb upload would be great!

     

     
    Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO