Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 40

    Sky Broadband Packages

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Packages within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Hi satdish, just a quick query. Been scanning the forums, and this is the first time I have seen any ...

    1. #1
      hippychick's Avatar
      hippychick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re packages

      Hi satdish,

      just a quick query. Been scanning the forums, and this is the first time I have seen any indication of the 'professional installation' and it's extra cost!

      What does this entail, and is it worth having? 50 seems a bit steep! (or is that just me?!)

      Hippy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      dont pay for installation we can help you


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      hippychick's Avatar
      hippychick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re installation

      Hello newsreadeR, how ya doin'?!

      Would welcome all the help I can get, but wot do u mean?????!!!

      Happy to be pink!!!!!!!!!

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      hiya :-)

      its dead easy to setup, as long as you have a network card in the pc, just ask for help when you are ready


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 152
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,194
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      yer mum knows what newsreader means
      "To help would be a great adventure"
      Listen to the all new 24hr SkyUser Radio http://www.skyuserradio.co.uk/



      Come join us for a game @ TeamSkyUser

    7. #6
      hippychick's Avatar
      hippychick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re setup

      okay, that sounds cool!

      Being a real ignoramus, I've been leaving it for a while, but I have decided that I really need to get it sorted, so I will be contacting Sky. When I do, you will be subject to all sorts of questions!!!!

      Now, it's late, and as I can see that my mum has gone!, I am off to bed! Enjoy!!!!!!


      Hippy

    8. #7
      shleyman's Avatar
      shleyman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting It Up

      I know abit about networking will that be enough to get me setup or will i need to know alot about the internet?
      What is involved in setting it up i assume it isnt just plug and play.
      Ashley

    9. #8
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 152
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,194
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      hello shleyman its basically just plug and play when they activate you so you should be able to do it your self, there is also a step by step guide on the cd that comes with the router.
      "To help would be a great adventure"
      Listen to the all new 24hr SkyUser Radio http://www.skyuserradio.co.uk/



      Come join us for a game @ TeamSkyUser

    10. #9
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site shleyman

      Yes its just plug-in and play unless you need to change anything in the router itself.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    11. #10
      der01's Avatar
      der01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If its just plug and play why do you need a network card in your pc.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO