Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 40

    Sky Broadband Packages

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Packages within the Sky news and announcements forums, part of the SkyUser Announcements category; Oh my God, what Have I walked into. Sounds like I had better stick with Firenet....

    1. #21
      The Villan's Avatar
      The Villan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Market Rasen
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Oh my God, what Have I walked into. Sounds like I had better stick with Firenet.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 152
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,194
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by The Villan View Post
      Oh my God, what Have I walked into. Sounds like I had better stick with Firenet.
      <<<< look's familia Baaaahhhh
      "To help would be a great adventure"
      Listen to the all new 24hr SkyUser Radio http://www.skyuserradio.co.uk/



      Come join us for a game @ TeamSkyUser

    4. #23
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by The Villan View Post
      At the moment our ISP is F2S. Haven't got any problems.
      One of the few then

      Can you guys give me some honest answers please.

      How good are the speeds in general
      On MAX reports are very good, provided you have good wiring and are not capped. A call normally sorts this out.


      Are the servers upmore than down
      Up more than down.

      What telephone support is there and what is the cost of calls.
      Usually pretty good, 0870 number although there is a freephone number on here.

      Is there a free website provided and if so what are the website space. I currently have free website at F2S with 200MB.
      Nope, hosting is so cheap nowadays, approx 10 / 20.00 a year will get what you need and still save you some money.

      I aasume it is the normal Broadband landline that is used and not satelite broadband. Is that correct.
      Correct

      My wife is a translator and needs to have a steady line with very little downtime. That is critical as she has towork to tight timescales. Any comments about Sky Broadband that would suggest not moving across?
      This is the most important question plus the next one.
      Don't tell them it is for business use if she is using it in that sense, as it is against the T and C's


      Assuming I have my Mac, how quickly can we be up and running again, as my wife can't afford to be offline too long.
      See my thread, although loads of people have had no problems, others have had horrendous ones.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 03-01-07 at 08:22 PM.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #24
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 152
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,194
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      my migration from F2S to Sky did have small problems but internet was never lost and i got connected before me MAC run out, BUT F2S like many other ISP's are now issuing the new style MAC codes which has caused all the problems with Geds migration.
      "To help would be a great adventure"
      Listen to the all new 24hr SkyUser Radio http://www.skyuserradio.co.uk/



      Come join us for a game @ TeamSkyUser

    6. #25
      ArthurDent's Avatar
      ArthurDent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Polesworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by The Villan View Post
      Oh my God, what Have I walked into. Sounds like I had better stick with Firenet.
      Aye, originally from Brum - moved out to the burbs where the housing is affordable!

      As for Firenet, what a bunch of muppets! I had to do a cease / reprovide when I left them to go to Freeola. Now nicely migrated across to Sky BB.

    7. #26
      The Villan's Avatar
      The Villan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Market Rasen
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by SatDish View Post
      <<<< look's familia Baaaahhhh
      Is that Beryl The Goat ?


      In fairness NewsreadeR they are not that bad. I have known worse and we have always been up and running.

      However, thanks for all your answers.

      Is the Modem Router provided by Sky any good or would it be better to stick to my trusty reliable Belkin

    8. #27
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,206
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 366 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Is the Modem Router provided by Sky any good or would it be better to stick to my trusty reliable Belkin
      As part of your T and C's you agree to use their router only, however it is possible to extract your username and password and use another, which we do not recommend you do this.

      Can I Use my own Router with Sky Broadband?


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #28
      The Villan's Avatar
      The Villan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Market Rasen
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Ah well thats Sky :-)

      Why won't Sky accept you NewsreadeR?

    10. #29
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 152
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,194
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Quote Originally Posted by The Villan View Post
      Is that Beryl The Goat ?
      Shhhh

      welcome Villan, ive been connected to Sky since september and have had very little down time prob about 5 hrs but that was when some easynet equipment went missing but they dont talk about that lol
      "To help would be a great adventure"
      Listen to the all new 24hr SkyUser Radio http://www.skyuserradio.co.uk/



      Come join us for a game @ TeamSkyUser

    11. #30
      The Villan's Avatar
      The Villan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Market Rasen
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      He he BTG

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO